Fulbright Scholars

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program provides post-baccalaureate funding for 8-12 months for individuals to study, research, or teach abroad while promoting cultural exchange and mutual understanding. Eligible applicants include undergraduates entering their senior year, alumni who earned a bachelor's or master's degree from Purdue as their most recent degree, and current Purdue graduate students who will not have completed a Ph.D prior to the beginning of their grant year.

There are two major types of Fulbright awards for U.S. students:

1) Study/Research grants, for conducting independent research or study in over 140 countries. Applicants develop an independent project proposal, which may include university coursework, independent library, lab, or field research, or special projects in the social sciences, life sciences, or visual and performing arts. Applicants must identify a contact in their host country and procure a letter stating that he or she will serve as the applicant's institutional affiliation during the student's stay.

In the majority of cases, students applying for study/research grants do so to fund a research experience. Students applying for study/research grants in the creative and performing arts must submit supplementary materials in addition to their application.

2) English Teaching Assistantship (ETA) grants are available in select countries and provide recipients with the opportunity to teach English as a second language to students from elementary school through the university level, depending on the country. ETAs serve as supplemental instructors in a classroom, generally providing conversation practice and teaching American culture for approximately 20 hours per week. Unlike research/study grants, for which an applicant must identify a specific location within the host country, ETAs simply apply to a country and those awarded grants are assigned a location based on need. Applicants cannot request specific assignments.

Fulbright Grantees receive non-competitive eligibility (NCE) for future employment. This is a special hiring authority granted by the U.S. government.

Past Scholars

photo of Warisha Aslam

Warisha Aslam, 2021

photo of Sohinee Bera

Sohinee Bera, 2021

photo of Lea Cejvan

Lea Cejvan, 2021

photo of Ethan Edwards

Ethan Edwards, 2021

photo of Phillip Harter

Phillip Harter, 2021

photo of Alexandra Kemp

Alexandra Kemp, 2021

photo of Harrison Lippie

Harrison Lippie, 2021

photo of William Austin

William Austin, 2020

photo of Maya Black

Maya Black, 2020

photo of Rachel Delmontagne

Rachel Delmontagne, 2020

photo of Glynn Gallaway

Glynn Gallaway, 2020

Placeholder Photo

Nick Hilgert, 2020

photo of Lucinda Ray

Lucinda Ray, 2020

photo of Eryn Sale

Eryn Sale, 2020

photo of Andrew Santos

Andrew Santos, 2020

photo of Geoffrey Williams

Geoffrey Williams, 2020

photo of Samaah Al-Najjar

Samaah Al-Najjar, 2019

photo of Samuel Al-Nimri

Samuel Al-Nimri, 2019

photo of Jackson Bennett

Jackson Bennett, 2019

photo of Brendan Butler

Brendan Butler, 2019

photo of Thomas Carpenter

Thomas Carpenter, 2019

photo of Taylor Lee

Taylor Lee, 2019

photo of Katherine Ceglio

Katherine Ceglio, 2018

photo of Zoya Hsiao

Zoya Hsiao, 2018

photo of Mitchell Jacobs

Mitchell Jacobs, 2018

photo of Shannon Kane

Shannon Kane, 2018

photo of William Mbongo

William Mbongo, 2018

photo of Chelsea Maupin

Chelsea Maupin, 2018

photo of Amber Nickell

Amber Nickell, 2017

photo of Theresa Saenz

Theresa Saenz, 2017

photo of Andre Woloshuk

Andre Woloshuk, 2017

photo of Ayat Abourashed

Ayat Abourashed, 2016

photo of Jessica Eisma

Jessica Eisma, 2016

photo of Jonathan Freeman

Jonathan Freeman, 2016

photo of Jackson Havens

Jackson Havens, 2016

photo of Megan O'Connell

Megan O'Connell, 2016

photo of Grant Owen

Grant Owen, 2016

photo of Benjamin Rich

Benjamin Rich, 2016

photo of Gideon Singer

Gideon Singer, 2016

photo of John Fahey

John Fahey, 2015

photo of Summer Forester

Summer Forester, 2015

photo of Allison Turner

Allison Turner, 2015

photo of Collin Hanson

Collin Hanson, 2014


Past Scholars, 1973 - 2013

  • Alicia English, 2013
  • Harper Otawka, 2013
  • Sharon Smith, 2013
  • Michael Stephen Jones, 2012
  • Brett J. Seward, 2012
  • Rebecca Conley, 2008
  • Shruthi Rajashekara, 2008
  • Nathan Shippee
  • Bryce Sadtler, 2002
  • Brian Hodson, 2001
  • Monica Fisher, 1998
  • Andrew Johnson, 1997
  • Peter Laz, Jr., 1996
  • Dean Ferguson, 1994
  • Melinda Reichelt, 1994
  • Becky Ficek, 1993
  • Gregory Humpa, 1991
  • Barry L. Howell, 1987
  • Katherin Shrick, 1986
  • Jean N. Kuebler, 1985
  • Steven M. Godeke, 1984
  • Rebecca Evans, 1983
  • Joyce Williams, 1975
  • Stephen K. Wright, 1975
  • Linda Horvay, 1973

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

2014 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by NISO Office

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact NISO at vaschirm@purdue.edu.