Skip to main content

William E. Moore

BS ’63, Chemistry, Southern University
PhD ’67, Physical Biochemistry, Purdue University

"I chose chemistry, largely through the coercion of my undergraduate advisor and department chair. For many years, I have had a special affinity for college teaching and for the freedom of the general academic environment. I am very pleased with my career choice."

For 43 years, William E. Moore has been leading teaching, administration, and research roles in higher education. Throughout his career, he has served as the chief academic officer at three institutions. Most of his career has been spent at Southern University Baton Rouge, where he served as chemistry department chair and was involved in curriculum innovation, an interest he still holds today.

By serving on national boards and educational advisory committees, Moore has influenced higher education. He was a charter member of the National League of Nursing Accrediting Commission, and a special advisor to the pre-college programs in the National Center for Research Resources at the National Institutes for Health. He also has given an invited lecture at Pasteur Institute in Paris, France.


  • 2006: Distinguished professorship at Purdue University was named in his honor
  • 2001: Selected for Sigma Xi Exxon Mobil Roundtable on the use of technology in science and math instruction in the 21st century
  • 1996: Appointed to the Apple Computer Higher Education Advisory Board of North America
  • 1981: Appointed chair of NIH General Research Support Review Committee
  • 1978: Gave invited lecture at Pasteur Institute in Paris, France

Purdue University College of Science, 150 N. University St, West Lafayette, IN 47907 • Phone: (765) 494-1729, Fax: (765) 494-1736

Student Advising Office: (765) 494-1771, Fax: (765) 496-3015 • Science IT, (765) 494-4488

© 2023 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.