Registration Time Ticket Groups

Spring 2019

Priority Groups Monday, October 22, 2018 - Friday, October 26, 2018
Graduate and Professional Monday, October 22, 2018 - Sunday, March 10, 2019
Seniors Monday, October 29, 2018 - Friday, November 2, 2018
Juniors Monday, November 5, 2018 - Friday, November 9, 2018
Sophomores Monday, November 12, 2018 - Friday, November 16, 2018
Current Freshmen

Monday, November 19, 2018 - Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Monday, November 26. 2018 - Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Open for all current degree students, non-degree, transfer students, and new spring admits  Thursday, November 29, 2018 - Sunday, March 10, 2019
Waitlist Available Thursday, November 29, 2018 - Friday, January 4, 2019

Summer 2019

Priority Groups Monday, January 28, 2019 - Friday, February 1, 2019
Graduate and Professional Monday, January 28, 2019, with different shutdown days depending on course/section meeting dates (module in which the course meets)
Seniors Monday, February 4, 2019 - Friday, February 8, 2019
Juniors Monday, February 11, 2019 - Friday, February 15, 2019
Sophomores Monday, February 18, 2019 - Friday, February 22, 2019
Current Freshmen Monday, February 25, 2019 - Friday, March 1, 2019
All current degree students, non-degree, transfer students, and new summer admits  Monday, March 4, 2019, with different shutdown days depending on course/section meeting dates (module in which the course meets)

Fall 2019

Priority Groups Monday, March 18, 2019 - Friday, March 22, 2019
Graduate and Professional Monday, March 18, 2019 - Sunday, August 25, 2019
Seniors Monday, March 25, 2019 - Friday, March 29, 2019
Juniors Monday, April 1, 2019 - Friday, April 5, 2019
Sophomores Monday, April 8, 2019 - Friday, April 12, 2019
Current Freshmen Monday, April 15, 2019 - Friday, April 19, 2019
All current degree students   Monday, April 22, 2019 - Friday, June 7, 2019
Summer Start STAR Monday, June 10, 2019
STAR Sessions New Admits Fall 2019  Thursday, June 13, 2019 - Wednesday, July 10, 2019 (Thursday-Friday, June 13-14; Monday-Friday, June 17- 21; Monday-Friday, June 24-28; Monday-Wednesday, July 1-3; Monday-Wednesday, July 10)
Transfer STAR Friday, July 12, 2019
Open for All Students, including Non-Degree Students  Friday, July 19, 2019 - Sunday, August 25, 2019
Waitlist available Friday, July 19, 2019 - Friday, August 16, 2019

The above is for reference only; dates and times are subject to change.

Registration Information FAQs

Q. How do I know when I can begin to register for classes?

All students are assigned specific days and times that they can register for classes; this is determined by their current student classification (Senior, Junior, Sophomore, etc.). Reference charts above.  Note: For your exact day and time, please check your Registration Status via myPurdue.

Q. How are these group days and times determined?

They are determined by the student's current classification (total number of credit hours earned). This does not include courses for which a student is currently registered.

Q. How do I find out when I can register?

To find your registration status, follow the step-by-step instructions here. Look under "Registration Procedures."

Q. What is a Registration PIN and how do I get one?

A Registration PIN is assigned to students for access to the myPurdue registration system. Registration PIN numbers are distributed by academic advisors and are assigned each semester.

Q. How do I register for classes?

Detailed instructions for registration can be found here for using myPurdue or here for using the Scheduling Assistant.

Q. When do new admits register?

New undergraduate admits can begin to register for classes after all currently enrolled Freshman windows have ended or during STAR days.

Q. What is a hold?

Holds refer to the restriction of a student’s eligibility to enroll in classes, change his/her curriculum or obtain academic transcripts at Purdue University. Holds can result from a variety of situations, including, but not limited to: nonpayment of library fines, parking tickets, and residence hall bills; disciplinary action taken by the Office of the Dean of Students; poor scholastic performance; or failure to meet immunization requirements. Prior to meeting with an advisor, a student needs to make certain his/her record is clear of financial and registration holds.

If a student is in hold status and would like to verify the hold, he/she can do so through myPurdue.  For further information, go to the Office of the Registrar, Room 45, Hovde Hall; call (765) 494-6165; or send an inquiry via e-mail to registrar@purdue.edu.

Q. How do you know if a section is cancelled?

When a section is cancelled, an e-mail will be sent to students registered in the cancelled section notifying them they need to move to a non-cancelled section.

The Office of the Registrar will flag the section as cancelled, remove the cancelled section time and instructor, and change the building and room to CANCELLED CLASS. The course will appear on the Concise Student Schedule as cancelled.

If a class is cancelled after a registration time period for a registration group has passed and prior to the open registration period, advisors can assist students in moving out of the cancelled section and registering for a non-cancelled section of that course, or, if the entire course is cancelled, registering for another course.

Q. Registration error questions?

You will find useful information here for responding to registration override inquiries.

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Registrar

Need accessibility help? For help with this page, contact Office of the Registrar at registrar@purdue.edu.