University Holidays

The University provides 10 paid holidays each fiscal year. The holidays recognized by the University are:

Independence Day — July 4 
Labor Day — First Monday in September 
Thanksgiving Day — Fourth Thursday in November 
Friday following Thanksgiving 
Christmas — December 25 
Extra Day at Christmas time 
New Year´s Day— January 1 
Martin Luther King Jr. Day — Third Monday in January 
Memorial Day — Last Monday in May 
President´s designated holiday

The established pattern is for the University to observe Sunday holidays on Monday.

Benefit-eligible employees must be in pay status (at least one-half of the normally scheduled shift) on normally scheduled workdays both immediately preceding and immediately following the holiday in order to receive holiday pay. An employee on an approved, paid leave of absence is in pay status for purposes of holiday pay.

If required to work on a holiday, clerical/service staff and operations/technical staff will receive premium pay at the rate of one and one-half times their regular rate of pay for all hours worked on the holiday. If a holiday falls on a regularly scheduled day off, employees will have their holiday redesignated to another normally scheduled workday within the same workweek.