Skip to main content

College of Science

Purdue University's College of Science is committed to the persistent pursuit of the mathematical and scientific knowledge that forms the very foundation of innovation. Nearly 350 tenure-track faculty conduct world-changing research and deliver a transformative education to nearly 1500 graduate students and 5200 undergraduates. We are a community of learners that develops practical solutions to today's toughest challenges with degree programs in the life sciences, physical sciences, computational sciences, mathematics, and data science.

Latest News

Purdue names 2023 Dreamer Award recipients

The Office of the Vice President for Ethics and Compliance has announced recipients of the 2023 Martin Luther King Jr. Dreamer Award, including Jean Chmielewski, interim dean and Alice Watson Kramer Distinguished Professor, College of Science, Purdue West Lafayette.

Scientists get first-ever sound recording of dust devils on Mars

When the rover Perseverance landed on Mars, it was equipped with the first working microphone on the planet’s surface. Scientists have used it to make the first-ever audio recording of an extraterrestrial whirlwind. Roger Wiens, professor of earth, atmospheric and planetary sciences in Purdue University’s College of Science, leads the instrument team that made the discovery.

Catalyzing Bold Science With The First Hypothesis Fund Seed Grants

Dr. Seema Mattoo is among the first Hypothesis Fund seed grant recipients receiving grants totaling $875,000. The Hypothesis Fund was launched to enable scientists to take intelligent risks. To defy the predominant expectations in their field. To go after their big ideas and to ask big questions.

ASPIRE graphic

Chopra and Cooks NCATS ASPIRE Challenges

A team of scientists including Dr. Gaurav Chopra and Dr. Graham Cooks, both of Purdue University’s Collage of Science, won the grand prize in a special competition called A Specialized Platform for Innovative Research Exploration (ASPIRE) held by the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS).


Purdue University College of Science, 150 N. University St, West Lafayette, IN 47907 • Phone: (765) 494-1729, Fax: (765) 494-1736

Student Advising Office: (765) 494-1771, Fax: (765) 496-3015 • Science IT, (765) 494-4488

© 2022 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact the College of Science Webmaster.