Purdue University Director of Bands selected as Music Educator Award Winner


Thursday, November 9th, 2017

WEST LAFAYETTE, IN – The Indiana Music Education Association announces Jay Gephart, Al G. Wright Chair and Director of Bands at Purdue University, as the 2018 Outstanding Collegiate Music Educator of the Year. This award is given to those who have exemplified outstanding achievement in the field of music education at the collegiate level.

Jay S. Gephart joined the faculty of Purdue University in the fall of 1995 after completing twelve years as a public school band director. In November 2006, Professor Gephart was appointed Director of University Bands and currently serves as the Al G. Wright Chair of Purdue Bands and Orchestras. He is the director of the Purdue “All-American” Marching Band and the Purdue University Wind Ensemble. Gephart currently holds the position of Vice President and Treasurer of the John Philip Sousa Foundation and serves on the American Bandmaster’s Association Board of Directors. He also is the current President of Indiana’s chapter of the band fraternity, Phi Beta Mu.

IMEA will present the award in January at their annual Professional Development Conference in Fort Wayne, IN.

For more information about the IMEA Awards, visit www.imeamusic.org/imea-recognition-awards/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Purdue Bands & Orchestras, 712 Third Street, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-0770

© 2022 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Purdue Bands & Orchestras

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Purdue Bands & Orchestras at bandsinfo@purdue.edu.