Jump to main page content
Purdue signature
center for instructional excellence

Book of Great Teachers

The Book of Great Teachers, a permanent display in the west foyer of the Purdue Memorial Union, is an extension of Academy Park. It was dedicated on April 23, 1999.

The book bears the names of 316 faculty members, past and present, who have devoted their lives to excellence in teaching and scholarship. They were chosen by their students and their peers as Purdue's finest educators. The nomination for inclusion in this book is repeated every five years.

For a full list of inducted faculty, click here

The most recent Induction Ceremony took place on December 2, 2013

Eligibility information

Nominations will be accepted again in early 2018.

Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award

This award is the University's highest undergraduate teaching honor. Prior to 1987, the award was sponsored by the Amoco Foundation.

Teaching for Tomorrow Fellowship Awards Program

This award is provided by the Classes of 1944 and 1945 in order to foster continued excellence in teaching and learning on our campus and to facilitate the development of the teaching potential of the faculty. Annually, it recognizes up to twelve assistant professors (or recently promoted associate professors) for their demonstrated talent for teaching and three senior faculty members for their long-term contributions to teaching at the University.

Class of 1922 Outstanding Innovation in Helping Students Learn Award

Each year the Class of 1922 alumni sponsors an award for Outstanding Innovation in Helping Students Learn.

Additional Faculty Awards and Honors