Jump to main page content
Purdue signature
center for instructional excellence
Teaching Academy Banner

2014-2015 Teaching Academy Induction and Recognition

The Purdue University Teaching Academy honored 11 faculty members and teaching assistants in ceremonies on Sept. 24, in recognition of their outstanding and scholarly teaching in graduate, undergraduate, or engagement programs.

In addition to the five Murphy Award recipients who are automatically inducted into the Teaching Academy, four new Fellows from the university faculty, and two Associate members from graduate teaching assistants, instructors or other teaching staff, were selected from the pool of nominees.

The new Teaching Academy Fellows are:
Monica Cardella – Engineering Education – College of Engineering
Pamela Karagory – Nursing – College of Health and Human Sciences
Christopher Lukasik – English – College of Liberal Arts
Vicki Simpson – nursing – College of Health and Human Sciences

The new Teaching Academy Associates are:
Lindsey Payne – Environmental & Ecological Engineering/Ecological Sciences and Engineering Graduate Program – College of Engineering
Kyle Vealey – English – College of Liberal Arts

The 2014 Murphy Award recipients honored as Teaching Academy Fellows are:
David Eichinger – Curriculum Instruction – College of Education
Kathleen C. Howell – Aeronautics and Astronautics – College of Engineering
Cynthia Bozich Keith – School of Nursing – College of Health & Human Sciences
Suzanne Nielsen – Food Science – College of Agriculture
Jason Weiss – Civil Engineering – College of Engineering

Inductee Photo

Photo caption: Purdue Teaching Academy members recognized during ceremonies Sept. 24, 2014, were, from left: (back) Lindsey Payne, Vicki Simpson, David Eichinger, Cynthia Bozich Keith, Christopher Lukasik, and Jason Weiss; (front) Kathleen Howell, Monica Cardella, Pamela Karagory, Kyle Vealey and Suzanne Nielsen.

2014-2015 Teaching Academy Awardee Videos

The 11 outstanding instructors recognized by the Teaching Academy share their innovative ideas on engaging students and facilitating learning on the Purdue West Lafayette campus. (Listed alphabetically.)

Cynthia Bozich Keith                                                  Monica Cardella
Nursing                                                                         Engineering Education


David Eichinger                                                          Kathleen C. Howell
Curriculum Instruction                                                     Aeronautics and Astronautics


Pamela Karagory                                                        Christopher Lukasik
Nursing                                                                         English


Suzanne Nielsen                                                        Lindsey Payne
Food Science                                                               Environmental&Ecological Engineering/
                                                                                   Ecological Sciences and Engineering
                                                                                   Graduate Program


Vicki Simpson                                                              Jason Weiss
Nursing                                                                         Civil Engineering


Kyle Vealey


Watch inductee videos from previous year