Skip to main content

Institutional Biosafety Committee Members


IBC Staff

IBC staff can assist with questions about IBC applications, meeting dates and operations, risk group classifications, research space inspections, or training.

Mr. Joshua Brown
Committee Secretary and Institutional Biosafety Officer
Phone: 49-41496

Dee Odum
Environmental Technician
Phone: 49-47968

IBC Membership

  • John “Jay” R. Burgess, PhD
    Associate Professor, Nutrition Sciences, & Chair, Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee, Purdue University West Lafayette, IN 47906, voting member
  • Eric Butt, SMS
    Director, Radiological and Environmental Management, Purdue University, ex-officio member
  • Amanda Deering, PhD
    Clinical Associate Professor, Food Science/NLSN, College of Agriculture, Purdue University, voting member
  • Joshua C. Brown
    Biological Safety Officer, Radiological and Environmental Management/HAMP, Purdue University, IBC Secretary, voting member
  • Megan Ellis, MS, DVM
    Clinical Veterinarian, Purdue University, Office of Research, IACUC Representative, voting member
  • Steve Goodwin, PhD
    Adjunct Professor, USDA/ARS Research Plant Pathologist, Botany and Plant Pathology. School of Agriculture, Purdue University, Co-Chair and voting member
  • Avtar K. Handa, PhD
    Professor, Horticulture & Landscape Architecture/HORT, School of Agriculture, Purdue University, voting member
  • Richard J. Kuhn, PhD
    Professor, Biological Sciences, Krenicki Family Director, Purdue Institute of Inflammation, Immunology and Infectious Disease/LILY, School of Science, Purdue University, Chair and voting member
  • Donna Majewski
    Community member, voting member
  • Leslie Martin Conwell
    Community member, voting member
  • Suresh K. Mittal, PhD
    Professor, Comparative Pathobiology/VPTH, School of Veterinary Medicine, Purdue University, voting member
  • James L. Mohler PhD
    Associate VP for Research, Responsible Official, Purdue University, Office of Research
  • Joshua Widhalm, PhD
    Associate Professor, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture/HORT, College of Agriculture, Purdue University, voting member

Meeting Dates

Please contact the Biosafety Officer for information about IBC Meetings.

2024 Schedule

  • February 20, 2024, 10:00 a.m.
  • March 19, 2024, 10:00 a.m.
  • April 16, 2024, 10:00 a.m.
  • May 21, 2024, 10:00 a.m.
  • September 17, 10:00 a.m.
  • October 15, 2024, 10:00 a.m.
  • November 19, 2024, 10:00 a.m.
  • December 17, 2024, 10:00 a.m.

Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN 47907 (765) 494-4600

© 2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Research

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Office of Research at