2019 Violet Haas & Leadership in Action Awards Reception
Left to right: Senior Associate Dean of Faculty, College of Engineering Arvind Raman; International Extension Specialist, College of Agriculture, Amanda Dickson; Professor of Mechanical Engineering Patricia Davies; Graduate Student Aura Ankita Mishra; David Haas representing the Violet Haas family; Professor, Department of Agricultural Economics, Maria Marshall; Chair and Director, Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence, Mangala Subramaniam; Assistant Professor, Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering, Jacqueline Linnes; Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Diversity, Jay Akridge
The 2021 Violet Haas & LIAA award program is here
The center proudly recognizes individuals, programs, and departments, that have facilitated the advancement of women in hiring, promotion, education, and salary, or have enhanced a positive professional climate for women at the University, have shown exemplary leadership, and contributed to developing leadership. The annual awards are: Violet Haas Award, Leadership in Action Award, and Distinguished Women Scholars. Two endowments that began in 2018 partially fund two new research project grants annually. The center contributes funds to both awards. In addition, a donation funds four graduate student travel awards annually.