MaPSAC Management and Professional Staff Advisory Committee

Community Spirit Award

The nomination period for 2023 is now closed. Any nominations submitted outside of the nomination period will not be considered. Please check back to see the 2023 winner, and remember to nominate someone when the period opens in Fall 2024.

The Community Spirit Award is given annually to a member of the M/P or C/S staff who sets a high standard for service, encourages a sustained commitment to civic participation, and inspires others to make service a central part of their lives. The award strives to honor these Purdue employees who actively volunteer their time to improve our community.

MaPSAC and the Campus Support Staff Advisory Committee (CSSAC) created the award in 2011. Management, professional, administrative support, police, fire and skilled-trades staff members are eligible to be nominated.

The number and quality of recommendations the award committee receives will determine the number of awards given each year. A primary nominee will be selected, but others may be recognized as honorable mentions.

Any organization or individual, on or off campus, may submit a nomination during a specified time period (usually the month of August).


Recipients must be an employee of Purdue University at the time of award. In addition, while the contributions being recognized must have occurred while the recipient was employed by the University, the volunteer efforts should not be associated with the staff member’s responsibilities at Purdue. Full- and part-time, exempt and non-exempt, individual employees of the University are eligible.

Faculty, undergraduate students, graduate students and postdoctoral employees are not eligible. Members of MaPSAC and CSSAC are not eligible.

Previous winners of this award

2022: Sandra May, graduate programs administrative assistant, Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering

2021: Krista Hixson-Titlow, associate director of capital projects, University Residences

2020: Jodi Taylor, marketing and outreach specialist, Department of Theatre

2019Rebecca Koetz, program coordinator, Forestry and Natural Resources

2018: Pamela Mow, administrative assistant, Botany and Plant Pathology

2016: Lindsey Payne, director of service learning, Center for Instructional Excellence

2015: Dan Carpenter, executive director, Student Success; Honorable Mention: Carol Weaver, alumni relations and communications coordinator, Agricultural & Biological Engineering

2014: Molly Cripe-Birt, large animal surgery technologist, Veterinary Medical Teaching Hospital

2013: Kurt Stull, director, Operations and Maintenance

2012: Nadine Dolby, professor of Curriculum and Instruction

2011: Melissa Swathwood, research and faculty secretary, School of Nursing

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by HR Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact HR Communications at