Exceptional Early Career Teaching Award

The Exceptional Early Career Teaching Award recognizes exceptional undergraduate faculty members with the rank of assistant professor (including assistant clinical professor).

The Exceptional Early Career Teaching Award is granted annually in spring semester. Each College receives the criteria and call for nominations every fall and each College is responsible for advancing nominees for the Murphy award. Faculty interested in applying for the award should contact their department head and/or College award committee.

Nomination Information

Please use the document linked below to review the procedures for Exceptional Early Career Teaching Award nominations. View Nomination Procedures (.doc)

Full List of Past Award Recipients


  • Swati Srivastava,  Assistant Professor, Political Science
  • Zahra Tehrani,  Clinical Assistant Professor, Honors College
  • Jamie Woodyard,  Clinical Assistant Professor, Pharmacy Practice


  • Danny Milisaviljevic, Assistant Professor, Physics and Astronomy
  • Jason A. Ware, Clinical Assistant Professor, Honors College


  • Megha Anwer, Clinical Assistant Professor, Honors College
  • Ann L. Loomis, Clinical Assistant Professor, Nursing
  • Greg J. Strimel, Assistant Professor, Technology, Leadership, and Innovation
Award Recipients from 2015-2020


  • Elizabeth Brite, Honors College
  • Nicole Hands, Computer and Information Technology


  • Heather Howard, Libraries
  • Elizabeth Karcher, Animal Science


  • Michael Mashtare, Agronomy
  • Becky Walters, Nursing


  • Stephanie Gardner, Biological Sciences
  • David Sears, Educational Studies


  • Jessica Cabral, Construction Management
  • Shelley Claridge, Chemistry
Award Recipients Prior to 2015


  • Pamela Karagory, Nursing
  • Micheal Yough, Educational Studies


  • Cary Troy, Civil Engineering
  • Jennifer Freeman, Health Sciences

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2023-2024 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of the Provost

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact Office of The Provost at purdueprovost@purdue.edu.