May 30, 2019

APSAC honors members, officers at transition; Excellence Award presented

Gavel passing by Loran Carleton Parker and Dan Vukobratovich Dan Vukobratovich, APSAC chair for 2019-20, receives the gavel from emeritus member and former chair Loran Carleton Parker. The 2018-19 chair, Brittany Vale, was unable to attend APSAC’s May 8 luncheon and perform the traditional passing of the gavel. The luncheon was in the West Faculty Lounge at Purdue Memorial Union. (Purdue University photo/Mark Simons) Download image

APSAC members completing their terms were honored, incoming members were welcomed and leadership changed hands May 8 during the annual transition luncheon at Purdue Memorial Union. In addition, the group presented the annual APSAC Excellence Award for outstanding service to Purdue.

Members of the Administrative and Professional Staff Advisory Committee, which is a part of University governance, facilitate information exchange between administration and employees, serve on University committees, work with administrators on various decisions, and help individual employees with issues. The official transition date is June 1, at which time members will begin serving on committees as well as taking APSAC seats.

The gavel was passed to the 2019-20 chair, Dan Vukobratovich, instruction and research services administrator in Purdue University Libraries and School of Information Studies, who was vice chair for 2018-19. The new vice chair, elected in April, is Stacey Baisden, graduate coordinator and schedule deputy in the Department of Political Science. By APSAC protocols, she is to be chair the following year.

APSAC Excellence Award presentation Dan Carpenter (right), executive director of Student Success Programs, accepts the 2019 APSAC Excellence Award on behalf of Michelle Ashcraft, director of Purdue Promise. Participating in the presentation at APSAC’s May 8 luncheon were (from left) Bill Bell, vice president for human resources; Dan Vukobratovich, incoming chair of APSAC; and Loran Carleton Parker, former APSAC chair. (Purdue University photo/Mark Simons) Download image

APSAC thanked those completing their terms as of that date: Katie Brothers, Eric Johnson, Alison Lampley, Brittany Vale and Emma Zhang. Vale is completing a year as APSAC chair. Brothers, Johnson, Lampley and Vale were elected in April to be emeritus members for 2019-20. Emeritus members serve a nonvoting year after their term to provide support, counsel and continuity.

Completing a year as emeritus members were Adrienne Albrecht, Mark Evans, Abby Hostetler and Loran Carleton Parker.

A regular business meeting followed the luncheon. Like many meetings in the past year, it focused on concerns and questions about the job family structure and SuccessFactors. Bill Bell, vice president for human resources, responded to members’ questions, many of which now have turned to annual reviews and pay bands.

New members

Incoming members received a welcome and an introduction to APSAC business. Unless filling an unexpired term, they will serve three years. Those newcomers are listed with the ending year of their term and their area of representation on APSAC:

* Madaline Foglesong (2022), Senior Vice President and Assistant Treasurer, Internal Audit, Treasurer & CIO, Vice President for Human Resources.

* Kirsten Gibson (2022), Areas reporting directly to the Vice President for Information Technology.

* Joseph Levell (2022), College of Agriculture and Cooperative Extension Service, and School of Veterinary Medicine.

* Clinton Pruitt (2022), Vice President for Physical Facilities Administrative Operations.

* Michael Springer (2020), Senior Vice President and Assistant Treasurer, Internal Audit, Treasurer & CIO, Vice President for Human Resources.

* Annette Watters (2022), Office of the President, Areas reporting directly to the Provost, Board of Trustees, Vice President for Public Affairs.

* Calvin Williams (2022), Intercollegiate Athletics.

* Cameron Ward (2022), Areas reporting directly to the Vice President for Information Technology.

Other information about APSAC is on the APSAC website, including continuing members.

APSAC Excellence Award

The APSAC Excellence Award recipient for 2019 is Michelle Ashcraft, director of Purdue Promise within the Student Success Programs area. She is credited with a strategic change toward individual support that has vastly strengthened Purdue Promise. Retention rates are slightly above the rates for the undergraduate student body as a whole.

Purdue Promise is a University complement to Indiana’s 21st Century Scholars Program, providing coaching, personal attention, a first-year course to assist with transition to college, and financial support to graduate in four years with little or no debt.

Ashcraft was involved with a program event and unable to attend the APSAC luncheon. Her award was accepted by Dan Carpenter, executive director of Student Success Programs. Carpenter said, “Michelle is one of the hardest-working people on campus. She is passionate about helping our low-income Indiana students.”

The winner of the APSAC Excellence Award receives a plaque and $1,500. The announcement of the nomination period is made each year in February.

Writer: Dan Howell, 765-494-2028,

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at