Purdue University Senate FAQs

Tenured, tenure-track, clinical and clinical-track are all voting faculty members and are eligible to serve on the Senate and its associated committees.

Faculty senator terms are for three years, beginning the June 1 Example: 1 June 2016 through 31 May 2019 (Ref. Purdue Senate Bylaws, Article II, 2.03)

Standing committees must be populated by university Senators. There are 8 standing committees, requiring 87 faculty members, therefore nearly every Senator should serve on a standing committee. Remember that it is in committee where the work of the senate is completed. The results of this work comes to the Senate in the form of a motion which is presented at one meeting, discussed with departmental colleagues, and voted on at the next meeting.

No. Service on a standing committee ends when your senate term ends. If you are interested in serving on the standing committee again, you must self-nominate when the Nominating Committee requests volunteers. We recommend you note that you have served on this committee before and would like to continue to serve on it.

Generally, you will serve on the standing committee only during your colleague’s sabbatical. However, you may serve for the rest of your term on the Senate, if it is mutually agreed upon with your colleague.

Membership Of The Senate


Article II, 2.00 Composition

  1. The Senate is composed of 102 members.
  2. The representation of the Senate is apportioned as follows:
    1. The President of the University.
    2. The Chief Academic Officer and the Chief Fiscal Officer of the University.
    3. The Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Senate.
    4. Three members elected by and representing the faculties of the regional campuses: one each from Purdue Northwest, Purdue Fort Wayne, and Indiana University–Purdue University Indianapolis.
    5. One undergraduate student member selected annually by the Purdue Student Government (PSG) and one graduate student member selected annually by the Purdue Graduate Student Government (PGSG), with terms of office to begin on June 1.
    6. The remaining ninety-two members are apportioned among the faculty units according to the number of faculty members attached to the respective faculty unit. This includes those the President assigns to participate in faculty government procedures, with the provision that no faculty unit has fewer than two members. Where a Dean is administratively responsible for more than one school, the faculties of these schools are considered a single faculty unit.
  3. Between six and sixteen designated Advisors to the Senate are accorded full floor privileges but not the vote. One of these represents the Honors College, elected by the faculty of the Honors College in a manner consistent with the election of Senators (2.03). The remaining Advisors are members of the administrative staff appointed to the Senate by virtue of their positions. One of these is the Secretary of Faculties, who acts as Secretary to the Senate. Advisors may serve as members of Senate committees.

    The Senate recommends the Advisors’ Senate and committee assignments for a three-year term to begin the following academic year. When vacancies occur, the Nominating Committee consults with the chairpersons of the Senate Standing Committees and then, at the second regular meeting of the Senate in the spring, proposes to the Senate a slate of Advisors and their committee assignments. The Senate may recommend that Advisors serve successive terms.
  4. An immediate past Chairperson of the Senate who has not been elected to a new Senate term serves as an ex officio member of the Senate, with full floor privileges but not the vote.