February 22, 2023

Three alumnae named as Distinguished Purdue Alumni Scholars

Three Purdue alumnae from two Purdue colleges have been selected as 2023 Distinguished Purdue Alumni Scholars for exceptional leadership and significant contributions to their fields.

The Office of the Provost and the Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence will honor the recipients during an award reception at 2 p.m. March 22 in the Purdue Memorial Union’s Anniversary Drawing Room. Awards will be presented by Peter Hollenbeck, vice provost for faculty affairs, and Linda Mason, dean of the Graduate School.

The three honorees, from the colleges of Engineering and Liberal Arts, are:

* Patrice Buzzanell, who earned her PhD in communications in 1987 from the Brian Lamb School of Communication. She is a Distinguished University Professor and chair at the University of South Florida Department of Communication.

* Gladys Francis, who earned her PhD in French and francophone studies in 2008 from the Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures. She is a professor of Africana, French and francophone studies and associate dean for academic student affairs in Howard University’s College of Arts and Sciences. 

* Seetha Raghavan, who earned her PhD in aeronautics and astronautics in 2008 from the School of Aeronautics and Astronautics. She is a professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering and associate dean of research and graduate studies in the College of Engineering at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University.

The reception is open to the public; registration is required. For more information, contact the Butler Center at ButlerCenter@purdue.edu.

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-24 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.