October 22, 2021

Provost’s Office announces creation of a classroom master plan

To support the University’s world-class educational environment, enrollment growth and the Transformative Education 2.0 initiative in Purdue's Next Moves, the Office of the Provost is embarking on a campuswide classroom master plan.

“Instructional delivery at Purdue is evolving and therefore our physical space must adapt to meet the demand for innovative teaching strategies,” says Jenna Rickus, vice provost for teaching and learning. “All classrooms, new or renovated, will need to support the learning styles of students and the emerging innovations of our instructors.”

The project is a collaboration between the Office of the Provost and Physical Facilities.

“This master planning effort will have a broad and lasting impact on the West Lafayette campus — functional, flexible and innovative instructional spaces are of paramount importance to Purdue’s continued success,” says Michael Gulich, senior director of campus planning, architecture and sustainability and university architect. “We’re excited to be partnering with the Provost’s Office and the advisory committee to help guide this process and ensure alignment with other campus master planning activities.”

A campus advisory committee will help guide the process. Committee members are:

  • Alice Pawley, professor of engineering education, College of Engineering, and member, University Senate.
  • Robert Frosch, senior associate dean of facilities, College of Engineering.
  • Dawn Laux, clinical associate professor and associate department head, Computer and Information Technology, Purdue Polytechnic.
  • Joel Ebarb, executive associate dean, College of Liberal Arts, and professor of theatre.
  • Charlene Sullivan, associate dean of undergraduate programs, associate professor of management, Krannert School of Management.
  • Erla Heyns, associate dean for learning, Libraries and School of Information Studies.
  • Natasha Duncan, associate dean for academic and international affairs, Honors College.
  • Kim Illingworth, assistant dean for learning and assessment, associate professor of pharmacy practice, College of Pharmacy.
  • Wayne Wright, associate dean for research, graduate programs and faculty development and the Barbara I. Cook Chair of Literacy and Language, College of Education.
  • Christine Wilson, associate dean for academic programs, professor of agricultural economics, College of Agriculture.
  • Kathy Salisbury, associate dean for academic affairs, 150th Anniversary Professor, small animal surgery, College of Veterinary Medicine.
  • Tom Berndt, senior associate dean for academic affairs and administration, College of Health and Human Sciences.
  • Stephanie Gardner, associate professor of biology, College of Science.
  • Ed Berger, associate vice provost for learning innovation, director of the Innovation Hub, Innovation College.
  • Shannon Kang, president, Purdue Student Government.
  • Madelina Nuñez, president, Purdue Graduate Student Government.

A national search to find a firm to lead the information-gathering portion of the initiative was implemented this past summer. After thorough vetting, Ayers Saint Gross was selected from a diverse group of highly qualified providers. 

Organizers say there will be ways for faculty, staff and others to engage with the advisory committee and the team from Ayers Saint Gross through stakeholder meetings, digital surveys and presentations. The classroom master planning effort will begin immediately and is expected to conclude in the summer of 2022.



Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-22 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.