May 5, 2021

Office of Engagement recognizes award winners for 2020, 2021

Purdue’s Office of Engagement named winners of its annual faculty and staff engagement awards for 2020 and 2021 at an in-person and virtual celebration on April 20.

The honorees for 2020 are:

Corps of Engagement
Purdue Water Supply in Developing Countries
Team: Ernest Blatchley III, College of Engineering; Alex Delworth, School of Construction Management Technology; Rachel Gehr, College of Engineering; Rebecca Johnson, School of Nursing; Allison Koeppen, College of Health and Human Sciences; Vicki Simpson, School of Nursing.

Faculty Engagement Scholar Award
Jennifer Bay, College of Liberal Arts

Faculty Engagement Fellow Award
Maria Marshall, College of Agriculture
Sulma Mohammed, College of Veterinary Medicine

Service-Learning Award
JoAnn Phillion, College of Education

Staff Engagement Award
Steven Smith, College of Science
Mary Gardner, Office of Engagement

Christian J. Foster Award
Lynn Bryan, College of Education

CICP Outstanding Commercialization Award
Mohammad Rahman, Krannert School of Management

JoAnn Miller Exemplary Community Partner
Glen Acres Elementary School

Jefferson Award Winners
Jennifer Bay, College of Liberal Arts -- Food Finders Food Bank
R. Thomas Godwin, Krannert School of Management -- IRS Volunteer Income Tax Assistant Program
Donna Zoss, College of Health and Human Sciences -- Grace Recovery
Kely Paez Urbano, College of Liberal Arts -- Spanish Service-Learning at Purdue


The honorees for 2021 are:

Corps of Engagement
Families Together           
Team: Linda Curley, Purdue Extension; Austin Toombs, Purdue Polytechnic Institute; Cezanne Elias, College of Health and Human Sciences; Rena Sterrett, College of Health and Human Sciences; Shelley MacDermid-Wadsworth, College of Health and Human Sciences.

Faculty Engagement Scholar Award
Laura Bofferding, College of Education
Darrin Karcher, College of Agriculture

Faculty Engagement Fellow Award
Bo Beaulieu, College of Agriculture

Service-Learning Award
Rebecca Johnson, School of Nursing

Staff Engagement Award
Ed Wiercioch, College of Education

Christian J. Foster Award
S. Selcen Guzey, College of Education

Jefferson Award Winners
Nadine Dolby, College of Education -- Animal Advocates of Greater Lafayette
Levon Esters, College of Agriculture -- Mentoring @ Purdue (M@P) Program
Kimber Nicoletti-Martinez, College of Agriculture -- Multicultural Efforts to End Sexual Assault (MESA)

More information can be found by visiting the Engagement Awards webpage.

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-22 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at