February 10, 2021

Faculty, staff, students invited to Violet Haas and Leadership in Action awards reception

Recipients of the Violet Haas Award, Leadership in Action Awards and Violet Haas Memorial Fellowship will be honored at a virtual live reception at 3:30 p.m. March 9. Jay Akridge, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity, will present the awards along with co-host Mangala Subramaniam, professor and Butler Chair and director of the Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence.

The reception is open to all; registration is required to receive the virtual reception link.

Violet Haas Award

The 2019-20 Violet Haas Award honoree is Melissa Remis, professor and head of anthropology, College of Liberal Arts. The Violet Haas Award recognizes individuals, programs or departments at Purdue that have effectively facilitated the advancement of women in hiring, promotion, education and salary, or have generally enhanced a positive professional climate for women at Purdue. The Butler Center administers the award. This is the 30th annual Violet Haas Award ceremony.

Leadership in Action Awards

The 2020 Leadership in Action honorees are:

  • Faculty category: Daniel DeLaurentis, professor, School of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and Valeria Sinclair-Chapman, associate professor, Department of Political Science.
  • Staff category: Elizabeth Suazo-Flores, research associate, Department of Curriculum and Instruction.
  • Student category: Elizabeth Coppola, PhD student, Department of Human Development and Family Studies.

The Leadership in Action Awards, also administered by the Butler Center, honor a faculty member, staff member and student, each of whom must show leadership with direct effect on their work and community environments. To be eligible for these awards, individuals must demonstrate ongoing commitment to engagement at the local, state, national and/or global level; active service to the campus community; and national service to academic and/or professional organizations.

Violet Haas Memorial Fellowship

The Violet Haas Memorial Fellowship honoree also will be honored by the College of Science. The 2020 College of Science recipient of the Violet B. Haas Fellowship is Theresa Anderson, assistant professor of mathematics.

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-22 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.