October 2, 2020

Internal search underway for vice provost for teaching and learning

The Office of the Provost is launching an internal search for the position of vice provost for teaching and learning. The vice provost for teaching and learning reports directly to the provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity and is responsible for providing visionary leadership for teaching and learning programs.

The VPTL has a primary focus on innovation in undergraduate education, student and instructor support, curriculum governance, academic policy development, and general academic program implementation. The person in this position is responsible for undergraduate academic affairs (academic programs campuswide), teaching success (faculty and staff development, graduate student training, etc.), student success (orientation, coaching/tutoring, academic support, disability resources, etc.), Exploratory Studies, Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation, academic advising, career success and the summer session. The VPTL serves as the Office of the Provost liaison to the Indiana Commission for Higher Education and as Purdue’s representative with the University Innovation Alliance. This VPTL also is responsible for strategic decisions regarding personnel, budgets, academic planning, curriculum development and program evaluations.

The position was last held by Frank Dooley, who was appointed chancellor of Purdue Global in May. Since his departure, Jenna Rickus, professor of agricultural and biological engineering and professor of biomedical engineering, has served as interim vice provost.

Members of the search committee are:

  • Nancy Marchand-Martella (chair), the Suzi and Dale Gallagher Dean of Education, College of Education.
  • Dan Carpenter, executive director, Student Success Programs.
  • Christine Wilson, associate dean and professor of agricultural economics, College of Agriculture.
  • Kim Plake, assistant dean for learning and assessment and associate professor of pharmacy practice, College of Pharmacy; Teaching Academy Chair.
  • Erik Otarola-Castillo, assistant professor of anthropology, College of Liberal Arts; and chair, University Senate Educational Policy Committee.
  • Zeba Raseen Kokan, undergraduate student in College of Health and Human Sciences, College of Liberal Arts, Honors College, Purdue Student Government representative
  • Lynne Horngren, director, Undergraduate Education and Academic Advising, College of Science.
  • William Oakes, 150th Anniversary Professor of Engineering Education, College of Engineering.
  • Sandra Sydnor, associate professor of hospitality and tourism management, College of Health and Human Sciences.

Details about the position are available here. All applications must be submitted through SuccessFactors.

Review will begin on Oct. 21. For more information, contact the committee chair, Dean Nancy Marchand-Martella, at nmarchand-martella@purdue.edu, or any other member of the search committee.

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.