August 14, 2020

Three professors to receive Purdue’s most prestigious research awards

Three Purdue professors have been chosen to receive the University's most prestigious research and scholarship awards. Each recognizes recent accomplishments of high significance and impact.

Jayson L. Lusk Jayson L. Lusk

2020 Lu Ann Aday Award: Jayson L. Lusk

Jayson L. Lusk, Distinguished Professor and head of the Department of Agricultural Economics in the College of Agriculture, will receive the 2020 Lu Ann Aday Award for exceptional work in the humanities and social sciences. Lusk’s recent papers investigate consumer response to mandatory labels on genetically engineered food products, the outcomes of efforts to improve public health via food tax and subsidy policies and the consequences to consumers of laws designed to improve production animal welfare. Lusk is being recognized for his contributions to food and agricultural economics where he applies his research results in multifaceted policy analysis related to food, nutrition, health and consumer satisfaction.

Kaushik Roy Kaushik Roy

2020 Arden L. Bement Jr. Award: Kaushik Roy

Kaushik Roy, the Edward G. Tiedemann Jr. Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the College of Engineering, will receive the 2020 Arden L. Bement Jr. Award for significant accomplishments in pure and applied science and engineering. Roy’s work exploits nanoscale electronic devices to achieve functionality analogous to biological neurons and synapses with the potential for improvements in the energy efficiency and compactness of computing hardware. He is being honored for pioneering and field-defining research across neuromorphic (brain-inspired) computing devices, circuits and algorithms.

Chris Greene Chris Greene

2020 Herbert Newby McCoy Award: Chris Greene

Chris Greene, the Albert Overhauser Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy in the College of Science, will receive the 2020 Herbert Newby McCoy Award for outstanding work in the natural sciences. Greene’s work is broadly esteemed because it illuminates pathways to the experimental creation, detection, and observation of unusual states of matter. He is being recognized for his pioneering influence on theoretical atomic, molecular, and optical physics.

The three distinguished lectures presented by the awardees will be livestreamed during the fall semester.

Contact: Shelley Burton, Office of the Executive Vice President for Research and Partnerships,

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-22 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at