October 22, 2019

Lectures set to celebrate Purdue's most prestigious research awards

Shelley MacDermid Wadsworth Shelley MacDermid Wadsworth

Three Purdue professors will present lectures Monday (Oct. 28) in Stewart Center's Fowler Hall as part of the University's most prestigious research awards.

Shelley MacDermid Wadsworth, professor of human development and family studies in the College of Health and Human Sciences, will present the 2019 Lu Ann Aday Distinguished Lecture at 10:30 a.m.  She is receiving the Lu Ann Aday Award, the University’s most prestigious award in the humanities and social sciences, for her conceptualization and development of a series of outstanding, innovative scholarly works on military and veteran families.

Evgenii Narimanov Evgenii Narimanov

Evgenii Narimanov, professor of electrical and computer engineering in the College of Engineering, will present the 2019 Arden L. Bement Jr. Distinguished Lecture at 1:30 p.m. He is receiving the Arden L. Bement Jr. Award, given for significant accomplishments in pure and applied science and engineering, for pioneering the concept of hyperbolic metamaterials in the field of nanophotonics.


Sabre Kais Sabre Kais

Sabre Kais, professor of chemistry with courtesy appointments in physics and astronomy in the College of Science, will present the 2019 Herbert Newby McCoy Distinguished Lecture at 3:30 p.m.  He is receiving the Herbert Newby McCoy Award, given for outstanding work in the natural sciences, for his creation of novel quantum computing algorithms for chemical calculations and the formulation of finite size scaling algorithms for assessing the stability of atomic and molecular systems.

Each lecture will be followed by a reception in the Robert L. Ringel Gallery in Stewart Center.

Award winners were nominated by colleagues, recommended by a faculty committee and approved by the executive vice president for research and partnerships and the president of the University. The 2019 recipients will receive a cash prize along with a small grant for their University scholarly activities.

Writer: Pamela Burroff-Murr, burroff@purdue.edu

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.