December 6, 2019

Faculty, staff, student receive Violet Haas and Leadership in Action awards

Recipients of the Violet Haas Award, Leadership in Action Awards and Violet Haas Memorial Fellowship were honored at a reception on Thursday (Dec. 5) in Purdue Memorial Union's West Faculty Lounge. Jay Akridge, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity, presented the awards along with co-host Mangala Subramaniam, director of the Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence and professor of sociology.

“We saw many outstanding submissions this year,” Akridge says. “It’s very gratifying to see so many of our faculty and staff members nominating their peers. These awards show us what a powerful -- and positive -- impact individuals can have on the people around them.”

The 2018-19 Violet Haas Award co-recipients are Patricia Davies, professor in the School of Mechanical Engineering, and Susanne Hambrusch, professor in the Department of Computer Science.

The Violet Haas Award recognizes individuals, programs or departments at Purdue that have effectively facilitated the advancement of women in hiring, promotion, education and salary, or have generally enhanced a positive professional climate for women at Purdue. The Butler Center administers the award. This is the 29th annual Violet Haas Award ceremony.

The Butler Center also administers the Leadership in Action Awards, honoring a faculty member, staff member and student, each of whom must show leadership with direct effect on their work and community environments. To be eligible for these awards, individuals must demonstrate ongoing commitment to engagement at the local, state, national and/or global level; active service to the campus community; and national service to academic and/or professional organizations.

The 2019 Leadership in Action awardees are Maria Marshall, professor in the Department of Agricultural Economics, in the faculty category; Amanda Dickson, international extension specialist in the College of Agriculture, in the staff category; and Aura Mishra, PhD student in the Department of Human Development and Family Studies, in the student category.

The Violet Haas Memorial Fellowship awardee also was honored by the College of Engineering. The 2019 College of Engineering recipient of the Violet B. Haas Fellowship is Jacqueline Linnes, the Marta E. Gross Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering.

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at