March 19, 2019

Freeman receives Murphy Award

Group photo for Jennifer Freeman Murphy Award presentation (From left) Marion K. Underwood, dean of the College of Health and Human Sciences; Aaron Bowman, head and professor of the School of Health Sciences; Jennifer Freeman, Murphy Award winner; Chantal Levesque-Bristol executive director of the Center for Instructional Excellence; and graduate students Brian Sumprer, Janiel Ahkin Chin Tai, and Ola Wase. (Purdue University photo/John Underwood) Download image

Jennifer Freeman, associate professor in the School of Health Sciences, has been named a recipient of the 2019 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in Memory of Charles B. Murphy. Freeman was surprised with the news on Monday (March 18).

Purdue will continue this spring to announce recipients of the Murphy Award, Exceptional Early Career Award, and Excellence in Instruction Award for Continuing Lecturers.

The University's highest undergraduate teaching honor, the Murphy Award is accompanied by a $10,000 cash award and induction into Purdue's Teaching Academy, which provides leadership for the improvement of undergraduate, graduate and outreach teaching. Murphy was a history professor at Purdue from 1927 to 1970.

The Exceptional Early Career Award recognizes outstanding undergraduate teaching among Purdue's early career, tenure-track faculty. Recipients of the award will receive a $5,000 award with additional funds for a department business account.

The Excellence in Instruction Award for Continuing Lecturers honors academic staff with the rank of continuing lecturer for outstanding undergraduate teaching on the West Lafayette campus. Recipients of the award will receive a $5,000 award.

The recipients of all three awards will be honored at an invitation-only luncheon on April 8.

A list of past Murphy Award and Early Career Award recipients is at A list of all winners of teaching awards is at

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at