December 12, 2018

45 professors inducted into Purdue's Book of Great Teachers

Book of Great Teachers honorees The induction ceremony for Purdue's Book of Great Teachers, which honors outstanding teaching faculty who have demonstrated sustained excellence in the classroom, was held Dec. 11. (Purdue University photo/John Underwood) Download image

Forty-five Purdue professors were honored Dec. 11 when they were inducted into the University's Book of Great Teachers, which honors outstanding teaching faculty who have demonstrated sustained excellence in the classroom.

Held every five years, the induction ceremony took place in Purdue Memorial Union's South Ballroom. President Mitch Daniels and Provost Jay Akridge spoke at the event.

Automatically included in the Book of Great Teachers are professors with 10 years of service to the University who previously have been honored with the Charles B. Murphy Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award. Other inductees have at least 15 years of service to the University and were nominated by students, alumni and colleagues.

“The Book of Great Teachers honors the very best of our Purdue educators and underscores our commitment to teaching excellence,” Akridge says. “We are grateful to the faculty members inducted this year -- and in years past -- for their devotion to our students, and we thank them on behalf of the countless lives they have influenced through their wisdom and guidance.”

Everyone inducted into the Book of Great Teachers is listed on a bronze-and-walnut wall display in the west foyer of the Union. The display was first unveiled in 1999. Including the most recently inducted professors, the book includes 429 names.

Professors honored, by college:

Clint C.S. Chapple
James D. Forney
Kenneth A. Foster
John H. Lumkes Jr.
Lisa J. Mauer
S. Suzanne Nielsen
Paul V. Preckel
Gerald E. Shively
B. Allen Talbert
Wallace E. Tyner
Rod N. Williams

JoAnn I. Phillion

Gregory A. Blaisdell
Edward J. Delp III
Chad T. Jafvert
Eric A. Nauman
Matthew W. Ohland
Carl R. Wassgren Jr.

Health and Human Sciences
Cynthia L. Bozich Keith
Julia A. Chester
Karen J. Foli
Jennifer L. Freeman
Gerald C. Hyner
Jeffrey D. Karpicke
Susan E. Swithers

Krannert School of Management
Clifford D. Fisher

Liberal Arts
S. Dorsey Armstrong
Carol J. Cunningham-Sigman
Melanie Morgan
Leigh S. Raymond
Anthony J. Silva
John D. Sundquist 

Matthew M. Murawski
Kimberly Illingworth Plake 

Purdue Polytechnic Institute
R. Mark French
James L. Jenkins
Linda L. Naimi

Erica W. Carlson
Henry C. Chang
Donatella Danielli-Garofalo
Mark A. Lipton
David R. McMillin
Marcy H. Towns
Aaron Nung Kwan Yip

Veterinary Medicine
John A. Christian

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at