September 19, 2018

Teaching@Purdue 2018 to feature 150th Anniversary Professors discussing framework for provost's Teaching & Learning Initiative

Members of the Purdue community are invited to discussions on the framework for developing the provost’s Teaching and Learning Initiative at Teaching@Purdue 2018, a series of four sessions scheduled across the West Lafayette campus this fall. Featured panelists are 150th Anniversary Professors recognized this past spring for their achievements in outstanding instruction for institutional excellence. They will respond to ideas and action items gathered by the provost in listening sessions held earlier this year.

In addition, awardees of the 2015 and 2016 Instructional Innovation Program, sponsored by Office of the Provost and the Office of the Vice President for Information Technology, will present their projects during three sessions following the 150th professor panels. The program supports instruction, instructional equipment, and/or technology that promote creative pedagogies, active learning and other new and emerging approaches to teaching.

The Teaching@Purdue 2018 series is designed to highlight Purdue’s teaching and learning mission and is hosted by the Purdue Teaching Academy with support from the Office of the Provost, the Center for Instructional Excellence, and ITaP Teaching and Learning Technologies. The series dates are:

Sept. 24 (M) in Beering Hall, Room B268
11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. – 150th Anniversary Professors David Rollock and Christine Hrycyna
1-2 p.m. – 2015 and 2016 Instructional Innovation grantees: Gaurav Chopra, Alejandra Magana, Shalyse Iseminger and Pam Morris

Oct. 3 (W) in Mechanical Engineering Building, Room 1015
11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. -- 150th Anniversary Professors William Oakes and Chuck Krousgrill
1-2 p.m. -- 2015 and 2016 Instructional Innovation grantees: Kara Weatherman, Atsushi Fukada, Marcy Towns, Cindy Harwood and Jennifer Richardson

Oct. 12 (F) in Pfendler Hall, Room 241
11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. -- 150th Anniversary Professors Suzanne Nielsen and Kathleen Salisbury

Oct. 16 (Tu) in Rawls Hall, Room 2082
11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. -- 150th Anniversary Professors Randy Roberts, Erica Carlson, David Eichinger and Christian Oseto
1-2 p.m. -- 2015 and 2016 Instructional Innovation grantees: Brandon Boor, Scott Bartholomew, Nicoletta Adamo, Bedrich Benes and Kerrie Douglas

Space is limited. Lunch will be provided for those who pre-register at

The Teaching Academy’s mission is to enhance and strengthen the quality of teaching and learning at the University.

Contact: Lindsey Payne,

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at