February 5, 2018

Christian Oseto named 150th Anniversary Professor

Marcos Fernandez, Karen Plaut, Jay Akridge, Christian Oseto, Stephen Cameron and Peter Hollenbeck (From left) Marcos Fernandez, associate dean and director of academic programs; Karen Plaut, interim dean of the College of Agriculture; Jay Akridge, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity; Christian Oseto, professor of entomology; Stephen Cameron, head and professor of entomology; and Peter Hollenbeck, vice provost for faculty affairs. (Purdue University photo/Rebecca Wilcox) Download image

Christian Oseto, professor of entomology, has been named a 150th Anniversary Professor by the Office of the Provost for excellence in teaching and mentoring.

“These new professorships honor Purdue faculty who take great pride in helping their students become the future leaders the private sector, government, and academe around the world,” says Jay Akridge, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and diversity. “We deeply appreciate their dedication to their students and to Purdue.”

The Provost’s Office will name 10 faculty with the designation of 150th Anniversary Professor, which coincides with the upcoming 150th anniversary of Purdue. Faculty who receive this distinction also will receive an annual discretionary allocation of $25,000.

Oseto has previously served as department head for entomology, contributing to a major increase in entomology course offerings for non-majors. He has received the College of Agriculture Outstanding Teacher Award and the Charles B. Murphy Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching and is a member of the Teaching Academy. He also was recognized with the USDA North Central Region Award for Excellence in Teaching. Oseto is a project director for the National Science Foundation Young Scholars Program, founding director of the University Honors Program, and former director of the Science Olympiad.

“[He] has led a revolution in the way Purdue teaches,” said department head Stephen Cameron. “He is as passionate about teaching today as he was when he arrived at Purdue in 1990 ….” 

The principal criteria for selection as a 150th Anniversary Professor included:

* Development or transformation of courses and/or curricula.

* Receipt of Purdue teaching awards at the department/school, college and university level (i.e., Murphy Award or election to the Teaching Academy).

* History of outstanding teaching evaluations from faculty peers, students and/or alumni.

Other considerations included mentoring and contributing to the academic, career and personal development of students within and outside the classroom, as evidenced by one or more the following:

* History of outstanding mentoring evaluations from faculty peers, students or alumni

* Receipt of unit, college or university awards for student mentoring.

* Sustained involvement as an advisor or mentor to student organizations (e.g., academic clubs, university clubs, club sports, student initiatives).

The 150th Anniversary Professors were selected by a committee of 13 senior faculty who are distinguished and named professors, winners of the Murphy Award, and members of the Teaching Academy. The inaugural 150th Anniversary Professorships will be funded by the Provost’s Office until donors are found to endow these named professorships.

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.