April 27, 2016  

Graduate students honored for excellence in teaching

Graduate students were honored Tuesday (April 26) at the 18th Annual Celebration of Graduate Teaching Excellence, hosted by the Office of the Provost, Teaching Academy, Graduate School and Center for Instructional Excellence. 

The Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award is the highest honor Purdue gives to a graduate student. Selected students must show excellence in mentoring and teaching undergraduate and/or graduate students, and have proven leadership and accomplishments outside of the classroom in service and outreach as well as scholarly presentations and publications. 

The 2016 recipients of the Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award are Kelly-Ann Dixon Hamil, Statistics; Emre Gencer, Chemical Engineering; and Pamela Sari, Interdisciplinary Studies. 

The event also recognized graduate students who earned Teaching Academy Graduate Teaching Awards, Graduate Instructional Development Certificates (GIDC), Graduate Teaching Certificates (GTC), and Advanced Graduate Teaching Certificates (AGTC). 

* The recipients of the Teaching Academy Graduate Teaching Award are: 

Ahmed Samy Abdelhamid, Computer Science 

Harsh Wardhan Aggarwal, Industrial Engineering 

Sun Young Ahn, Art and Design - Visual Communications Design

Timothy J. Anderson, Entomology

Aditya Babar, Chemistry

Jacob Brindley, Economics

Karen Byrd, Hospitality and Tourism Management

Heather W. Cann, Political Science

Nichole Chapel, Animal Science

Yi Chen, Mathematics

Libby Chernouski, English

Casey Day, Forestry and Natural Resources

Stacey Dearing, English

Kyle Denton, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Hannah Dockrill, Curriculum and Instruction

Maayan Dvir, Psychological Sciences

Bryan Eason, Veterinary Clinical Sciences

Nicole Eikmeier, Mathematics

Susan Joy Ely, Technology Leadership and Innovation

Ronald Erdei, Computer and Information Technology

Rong Fu, Sociology

Joshua Galat, English

Aaron R. Gall, Biological Sciences

Eshan Ganju, Civil Engineering

Ron Tracy Garner, Health and Kinesiology

Ahmad Gheith, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Stefanie Griebel, Agronomy

Adam Hancock, Comparative Literature

Tyler Hayes, Chemistry

Andrew Hesselbrock, Physics and Astronomy

Katharine Horzmann, Health Sciences

Cassidy Jay, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences

John C. Kennedy, History

Claire Kilmer, Chemical Engineering

Monika Lavan, Industrial and Physical Pharmacy

Jared Law-Penrose, Management

Yangfan Liu, Mechanical Engineering

Yangxuan Liu, Agricultural Economics

Elise A. Lofgren, Youth Development and Agricultural Education

David Lotz, Engineering Technology

Xin Ma, Chemistry

Saravana Kumar Kailasam Mani, Basic Medical Sciences

Richard Marion Marcus III, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Christina M. Marini, Human Development and Family Studies

Nicholas Marino, Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Michelle McMullin, English

Flavio A. Coimbra Mendonca, Aviation and Transportation Technology

Avanish Mishra, Mechanical Engineering

Jaclyn Myers, Pharmacy Practice

Alina V. Nesen, Computer Science

Kelsie Niffenegger, Physics and Astronomy

Edward Price, Mathematics

Elijah Roth, Chemistry

Katie Grace Ruri, Nursing

Valerie Ryan, Food Science

Nina Serratore, Biochemistry

Sunhye Shin, Nutrition Science

Gayathri Shivkumar, Aeronautics and Astronautics

Devika Sirohi, Biological Sciences

Mario F. Sola, Comparative Pathobiology

Jessica Sturgess, Communication

Frank Suárez-Román, Botany and Plant Pathology

Emily G. Taylor, Animal Science

Waterloo Tsutsui, Aeronautics and Astronautics

Benjamin Vondersaar, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Madisson Whitman, Anthropology

Malithi Wickramathilaka, Agricultural and Biological Engineering 

* Graduate students who earned the Graduate Instructional Development Certificate are:

Aakanksha Angra, Biological Sciences

Julian R. Archer, First Year Engineering

Jaemun Byun, Hospitality and Tourism Management

Nichole Chapel, Animal Sciences

Zachary Gold, Human Development and Family Studies

Yu-Han Hung, Nutrition Science

Elin Jacobs, Agronomy

Cagla Kantarcigil, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

Simran Kaur, Food Science

Min Jung Kim, Hospitality and Tourism Management

Megan LaFollette, Animal Sciences

Elena Tomaselli Muensterman, Pharmacy Practice

Sunhye Shin, Nutrition Science

Megan Taylor, Agronomy

Hao Wang, Aeronautics and Astronautics 

* Those who earned the Graduate Teacher Certificate are: 

Ola Abdelhadi, Health and Kinesiology  

Jolivette J. Anderson-Douoning, Communication and American Studies

Aakanksha Angra, Biological Sciences  

Bede Atarah, Languages and Cultures (French)

Ali Behnood, Civil Engineering 

Anne V. Brown, Agronomy 

Mridula Damodaran, Physics and Astronomy 

Belayneh Desta, Civil Engineering 

Amartya Dutta, Physics 

Amr Ebaid, Computer Science 

Ronald Erdei, Computer and Information Technology 

Felix Kwesi Fandoh, Languages and Cultures 

Rong Fu, Sociology 

Stefanie Griebel, Agronomy 

Tiffany Brooke Karalis, Curriculum and Instruction 

Lydia Larbi, Languages and Cultures 

Wenfeng Li, Linguistics 

Lori M. Lundell, Sociology

Qianwen Luo, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences 

Jennifer Mansfield, Nutrition Science 

Mary Marshall, Human Development and Family Studies 

Joseph M. Martin, Agronomy

Ashton Mouton, Communication 

Fanhao Nie, Sociology 

Brittany Faye Peterson, Entomology 

Andrea J. Ray, Food Science; Biological Sciences 

Aditi Rayarikar, Languages and Cultures (German)

Shaina Riciputi, Health and Kinesiology 

Anastasia Marie Rynearson, Engineering Education 

Megan Taylor, Agronomy 

Cameron S. Wade, Chemistry  

* Graduate students who earned the Advanced Graduate Teacher Certificate are:

Harsh Wardhan Aggarwal, Industrial Engineering 

Nusta Carranza Ko, Political Science

Douglas Pruim, Communication

Rashmi Kalicharan Shrestha, Chemistry

J.E. Sigler, Communication    

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-19 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.