March 24, 2016  

Nies receives Murphy Award

Larry Nies

Larry Nies. (Purdue University photo/Brooklyn Gingerich)
Download Photo

Larry Nies, professor of civil engineering and environmental and ecological engineering, has been named the recipient of a 2016 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in Memory of Charles B. Murphy. Nies was surprised with the news on Wednesday (March 23).

Purdue will continue to announce Murphy Award winners and Exceptional Early Career Award recipients throughout the week. Murphy Award winners named already are Eric Nauman, professor of mechanical engineering and biomedical engineering, professor of basic medical sciences (by courtesy) and director of College of Engineering Honors Programs, and Rod Williams, associate head of Purdue Extension and associate professor of wildlife science. Shelley Claridge, assistant professor of chemistry and biomedical engineering, has been named recipient of an Exceptional Early Career Award.

The University's highest undergraduate teaching honor, the Murphy Award is accompanied by a $10,000 cash award and induction into Purdue's Teaching Academy, which provides leadership for the improvement of undergraduate, graduate and outreach teaching. Murphy was a history professor at Purdue from 1927 to 1970.

The Exceptional Early Career Award recognizes outstanding undergraduate teaching among Purdue's early career, tenure-track faculty. Recipients of the award will receive a $5,000 award with additional funds for a department business account.

The recipients of both awards will be honored at an invitation-only luncheon on April 1. A list of past recipients of the Murphy Award and the Exceptional Early Career Award is available at

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at