Jump to featured news Jump to other news and events
Purdue signature

Program Committee

The Program Committee plans and coordinates speaker presentations for PURA members during the monthly lunch time meetings on the first Monday of each month except the month of September. The first Monday in September is close to the time when the annual “Kickoff Luncheon” is normally held, so a regular monthly meeting is not scheduled. The committee sets the lunch time meeting schedule for the coming year beginning with October and running through August of the following year. If the first Monday of the month falls on a national holiday, PURA does not meet that month.

The Program Committee holds its primary annual planning session as part of PURA’s Annual Transition Meeting in late May or early June. During this meeting, the committee puts together a list of potential speakers for the coming program year. After the annual planning meeting, committee communication is via e-mail, telephone, and personal contact at the monthly lunch time meetings. Each committee member is assigned to confirm and coordinate at least one monthly meeting per year. Typically, speakers are Purdue faculty or administrators or community leaders with expertise in a variety of subjects or organizations.

Members of the committee are:

  • Robert Ritchie, chair, bob.cecy@gmail.com
  • Jim Beatty
  • Dan Collins
  • Norman Long
  • Becky Moyer
  • Chris Roller
  • John Schneider
  • Tom Turpin

Due to normal attrition, this committee needs several new members each year -- starting their terms during the Annual Transition Meeting. Purdue retirees and spouses are eligible for membership in this or any other PURA committee. Appointments are for a three-year term with membership limited to six consecutive years (two three-year terms). Anyone interested in joining this committee or any other, should contact the committee chair.

Last Updated:  July 2023