Jump to featured news Jump to other news and events
Purdue signature

Benefits Committee

The Benefits Committee monitors the medical plans for retirees, evaluates changes, and investigates alternatives where advantages may be gained.

A key part of the execution of this committee's responsibilities is through the support provided by the Purdue University Human Resource Services department that handles the communication, gathers additional vital data, and provides a focal point for problem resolution.

The committee also strives to keep retirees aware of additional University benefits and privileges and promotes program improvements where possible.  Members of the committee are:


  • Larry Pherson, chair, lpherson3744@gmail.com
  • Emily Bramson
  • Charles Brown
  • Rick Cosier
  • Don Gentry
  • Peter Goldsbrough
  • Daniel Heman
  • Sue Hiser
  • Marshall Martin
  • Harry Morrison
  • Betty Nelson
  • Cindy Oneal
  • Marta Read
  • Carolyn Roper
  • Leon Thacker
  • Tom Turpin
  • Jane Walker
  • William Bennett (ex-officio)
  • Jerry Day (ex-officio)
  • Norm Long (ex-officio)
  • Tom Robertson (ex-officio)
  • Shan Chen (HR staff)
  • Kate LaMar (HR staff)


Purdue retirees and spouses are eligible for membership to this or any other PURA committee. Due to the Benefits Committee's responsibilities, priorities and processes and the time involved in researching and resolving complex issues affecting retirees, this committee has elected to have no term limits for its members. Anyone interested in joining this or any other committee should contact the committee chair.

 Last Updated:  June 2022