June 3, 2022

Appointments, honors and activities

Faculty and staff honors:

- Inductees for the 2022 Indiana Aviation Hall of Fame have been announced. Laura Goldsberry, former assistant professor in the Purdue general flight technology department; James Maris, former professor of aviation technology; and Michael Pittard, a contributor to the Purdue University airport, join this year’s list of inductees.

Goldsberry was the first woman to join the faculty in Purdue’s general flight technology department and was a tenured assistant professor. She created a curriculum within the university standards and taught nearly 300 aviation students from 1979-86.  

Maris was a professor of aviation technology and was instrumental in the organization and development of Purdue’s Department of Aviation Technology. He served as department head from 1955-82 and then as assistant to the dean in the School of Technology, retiring in 1984.

In 1983, Pittard expanded his fixed-base operator service by providing services to the Purdue University Airport. This company, Lafayette Aviation Inc., provided fuel sales, flight training, air charters, aircraft management and a repair station. Lafayette Aviation was sold to Purdue Aviation LLC in 2015.

Those inducted will be honored at a banquet hosted in Carmel on Oct. 8.

-  Elisa Bertino, the Samuel D. Conte Professor of Computer Science, has been elected as vice president of the Association for Computing Machinery, the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society. Bertino has been at Purdue since 2004; her research interests cover many areas in the fields of information security and database systems.

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-22 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.