May 8, 2020

Appointments, honors and activities

Faculty and staff honors:

Stacey Connaughton, associate professor in the Brian Lamb School of Communication at Purdue University, has received the Provost’s Award for Outstanding Graduate Mentor. The award honors current graduate faculty members who demonstrate sustained and significant contributions to graduate education at Purdue’s West Lafayette campus through well-structured relationships with students, including committee service, mentoring, funding, and advocacy; innovative graduate teaching; and administration of graduate programs. Since joining the Purdue faculty in 2005, Connaughton has served on over 70 graduate student committees and directed graduate student completion of 18 dissertation projects and five master’s theses. Information on Connaughton’s honor is available.

Ellen Ernst Kossek, the Basil S. Turner Professor of Management in the Krannert School of Management, has received the Ellen Galinsky Generative Researcher Award from the Work Family Researchers Network. This award recognizes a work-family researcher or research team who have/has contributed breakthrough thinking to the work-family field via theory, measures, and/or data sets that led to expansive application, innovation, and diffusion, including the sharing of research opportunity in the spirit of open science.

Kenneth Ferraro, distinguished professor of sociology and director of the Center on Aging and Life Course, was selected as the recipient of the Morrill Award. Created in 2012 to celebrate the 150th anniversary of the Morrill Act, the award is Purdue’s highest career achievement recognition for faculty members. Ferraro will be presented the award and a $30,000 prize at the Faculty Awards Convocation.



James Farr, the Germaine Seelye Oesterle Professor of History in the College of Liberal Arts, has published his new book, “Who Was William Hickey? A Crafted Life in Georgian England and Imperial India.” The book analyzes Hickey’s autobiography from the early 19th century, explaining “how personal narratives reveal the individual as a purposeful social actor pursuing particular objectives, but framed by cultural and social contexts, in this case by 18th-century London and Imperial India.” John Eakin, the Ruth N. Halls Professor Emeritus of English at Indiana University, wrote that “if anyone wants to know what a re-historicized approach to life writing would look like, I would point them to this book as an exemplary model.”


Student honors:

The Purdue University Graduate School announced the recipients of the Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award and the Graduate School Mentoring Award for Postdoctoral Trainees and Graduate Students. The Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award is considered the highest honor given to teaching assistants at Purdue. Recipients have demonstrated excellence in teaching and mentoring, along with accomplishments in service/outreach and scholarly publications.  The 2020 Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Awards recipients are Michael Lolkus, Aya Saleh and Elle Rochford.

The Graduate School Mentoring Award for Postdoctoral Trainees is awarded to trainees who have proven to be outstanding mentors in the lab, in the field, or in the classroom. Mentoring can be related to one or more of the following areas: research design and analysis, career and professional advice, and personal guidance. The 2020 award goes to Caitlin Proctor. Subramanian Chidambaram and Ashleigh Kellerman received the Graduate School Mentoring Award for Graduate Students. This award is presented to graduate students who have proven to be outstanding mentors in the lab, in the field, or in the classroom in research design and analysis, career and professional advice, or personal guidance and tutoring. Complete bios on the recipients are available.

Avery Josephine Saylor, a senior in the Patti and Rusty Rueff School of Design, Art, and Performance in the College of Liberal Arts, won the 2020 Midwest Merit Award by the Industrial Designers Society of America (IDSA). The IDSA Merit Award is the most prestigious student award in the industrial design major. There are five IDSA districts nationally, and each district has only one Student Merit Award winner. More information about the award is online.

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-20 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at