August 22, 2019

Jason Alexander performance, Tyler Trent award to highlight Krannert event in Indianapolis

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — Jason Alexander, who portrayed iconic character George Costanza on the television show “Seinfeld,” will provide entertainment at the Krannert School of Management’s 19th annual Krannert Leadership Speakers Series event. The dinner will take place at 6:30 p.m. on Sept. 19 at the Indiana Roof Ballroom in Indianapolis.

Tickets for the dinner are available to the general public for $100 per person. Specially priced tickets are available for Purdue faculty, staff and students. Tickets are available online at or by calling 765-494-0901. Net proceeds from the event go to Krannert scholarships.

Alexander received six Emmy nominations and four Golden Globe nominations for his role, winning two Screen Actor Guild Awards as outstanding male actor in a comedy series. He also has starred in several movies, including “Pretty Woman” and “Shallow Hal,” and won a Tony Award for his part in “Jerome Robbins’ Broadway.” His performance will include singing, comedy and conversation with the audience.

Also that evening, the Boiler Business Exchange will present its Father Phil Bowers Award, given annually to a non-businessperson who has contributed to the quality of life in Indiana. This year’s recipient is the late Tyler Trent, the Purdue superfan who fought a courageous battle against bone cancer and helped raise thousands of dollars for cancer research. His parents, Tony and Kelly Trent, will be present to receive the honor.

The Boiler Business Exchange will induct its fourth class into its Business Hall of Fame: Herschel and Mary Cook, co-owners, Harry’s Chocolate Shop; Jay Ricker, co-founder, Ricker’s; and Bruce White, founder and chairman of White Lodging.

Several Krannert alumni awards will be presented at the event. Bill Kassling, lead director of Wabtec, will receive the Krannert Business Leadership Award, presented annually to an individual who has achieved success in business and in the community.

Other alumni awards to be presented are:

• Distinguished Alumni Award: Tim Coleman, vice president and information officer, medicines development unit, Eli Lilly and Co.

• Distinguished Service Award: Susan Jischke, human resources offering manager of employee recognition, IBM.

• John S. Day Distinguished Alumni Academic Service Award: Kwei Tang, Chia-Lun Lo Chair, National Chengchi University.

• Burton D. Morgan Entrepreneurship Award: Tiffany Sauder, founder and president, Element Three.

• Young Alumni Award: David Fox, principal, The Blackstone Group.

This is one of many events celebrating Purdue’s sesquicentennial, 150 Years of Giant Leaps. This yearlong anniversary is highlighting Purdue’s remarkable history of giant leaps, while focusing on what giant leaps Purdue can take to address the world’s problems. The campaign launched at Homecoming 2018, and there will be numerous events through Homecoming 2019, as well as the various Ideas Festival events, which are the centerpiece of the Giant Leaps sesquicentennial campaign.

Media contact: Joseph Paul, 765-494-9541,

Source: Tim Newton,

Note to Journalists: Media interested in covering the event should contact Tim Newton, Krannert director of external relations, at 765-496-7271 or No video or audio recordings will be permitted.

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-22 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at