May 3, 2019

Appointments, honors and activities

Faculty and staff honors:

- Mara Faccio, the Duke Realty Chair in Finance in the Krannert School of Management, recently won the William F. Sharpe Award for Scholarship in Financial Research for the best papers published in the Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis in 2018. The title of the paper is “Taxes, Capital Structure Choices, and Equity Value.” Faccio and co-author of Jin Xu, a former Krannert faculty member, also won the Sharpe Award in 2015 for a paper titled “Taxes and Capital Structure.” The Sharpe Award recognizes researchers who, through their articles published in the Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis, have most contributed to the understanding of important areas of financial economics. (JP)

- David Deal, a continuing lecturer in the Patti and Rusty Rueff School of Design, Art, and Performance, has been recognized with two silver awards and publication in the Graphis Poster Annual 2020, an international poster design competition sponsored by Graphis, a major publisher in the graphic design industry since 1944. Deal received the awards for the 2018 Spring Dance Works and the 2018 Winter Dance Works posters for Purdue Contemporary Dance Company. Also receiving recognition is Mark Simons, senior photographer with Purdue Marketing and Media, whose imagery is an important aspect of the designs.

- The Library Instruction Round Table of the American Library Association has selected Clarence Maybee, an associate professor with Libraries and School of Information Studies, as the 2019 recipient of the LIRT Librarian Recognition Award. The award was created to recognize an individual’s contribution to the development, advancement, and support of information literacy and instruction. More information can be found here.

- The Purdue University Student Veteran Organization, in conjunction with Purdue's Veterans Success Center, surveyed all Purdue student veterans for the faculty they felt did an exceptional job of teaching and supporting student veterans. The award was for those faculty and staff who went out of their way to enable military connected students to succeed.  The 2019 award recipients were Michael Dyrenfurth, professor emeritus in the Polytechnic Institute; Linda Naimi, an associate professor in the Polytechnic Institute; Cary Troy, an associate professor in civil engineering; and Mitchell Springer, executive director of ProSTAR and operations and strategic initiatives within the Polytechnic Institute. The award recipients received their plaques April 19 at the annual Purdue Student Veteran Organization graduation dinner.

- Susan Melson Huffman, associate director of administration and assignments for University Residences, is the recipient of the Outstanding Advisor of the Year Award for 2019, presented by the National Council of Alpha Lambda Delta. Huffman will receive the award and deliver a keynote address in October at the 2019 National Leadership Conference in Buffalo, New York.


- The city of South Bend and Purdue Manufacturing Extension Partnership received an Industry 4.0 Award for Most Innovative Workforce Development Implementation for their joint project aimed at training incumbent workers from multiple South Bend manufacturing companies. These participants received a Lean Practitioner Certificate and Lean Implementation Certification. The cost of the training was covered by grant funding from the city of South Bend’s Mayor’s Pathways on Demand Workforce Development Program. More information can be found here.

- WBAA News has been honored with three regional wins in this year's Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, hosted by the Radio Television Digital News Association. It tied for the most wins in Region 7's small market radio category (encompassing Illinois, Indiana, Michigan and Ohio). Awards were given for the following: Hard News: A story about how freight companies can use outdated state law to railroad local governments; Innovation: A three-part series offering candidates for election in 2018 to play miniature golf, since debates were sometimes hard to come by; and Best Newscast: The 7 a.m. newscast from Jan. 25, 2018, including a story about Lafayette's point-in-time homelessness count, a vigil at a West Lafayette church that had been vandalized, and news of Purdue's basketball teams. All three entries are automatically entered for consideration in the national Murrow Award contest. Winners in that contest will be announced in June.

Student honors:

- Sabrina Dycus, who is pursuing her Pharm.D., was selected as the Dr. Mike Nichols Graduate Fellowship award winner. The $3,000 award is for the 2019-20 academic year. Dycus is involved with the Purdue Pharmacy Ambassadors and the Rho Chi Pharmacy Academic Honor Society and has served as co-tutoring chair of Purdue’s Alpha Lambda Delta chapter.

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-24 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at