April 17, 2018

Purdue announces partnership with Jefferson Awards Foundation

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. —  The Purdue University Office of Engagement announced a partnership with the Jefferson Awards Foundation to honor and inspire individuals making a difference in the local community.

The partnership was announced during the Office of Engagement Awards Luncheon in the Purdue Memorial Union on Tuesday (April 17).     

“Partnering with the Jefferson Awards Foundation reinforces the commitment that Purdue staff, faculty and students make to the Greater Lafayette community,” said Steve Abel, Purdue associate provost for engagement. “This partnership will enhance our impact while allowing us to recognize members of the Purdue family for their community development efforts.”

Purdue will participate in the Jefferson Awards Foundation’s Champions program, joining various businesses and educational institutions nationwide who partner with the organization to engage in meaningful public service and celebrate their communities with Jefferson Awards.

The Champions program will offer Purdue staff and faculty the opportunity to engage directly in youth programming, training and mentorship programs; various co-branding opportunities that can be used to recognize volunteers; and an opportunity to nominate volunteers for national Jefferson Awards through the foundation.

The Jefferson Awards Foundation is the nation's most prestigious and longest-standing organization dedicated to powering and celebrating public service. The organization honors thousands of grassroots unsung heroes each year, partners with Champions to engage their employees and communities in service, and gives young leaders confidence in their ability to make a difference and the skills they need to do it well.

As part of the partnership, Purdue will be honoring six individuals, three each semester, for their volunteer work to better the local community. The first recipients will be honored during the fall 2018 semester.   

Amanda Johnson, national director of the Jefferson Awards Foundation Champions program, delivered a presentation during the engagement awards luncheon that outlined the newly created partnership. Thomas Christopoul, a member of Purdue’s President’s Council, is the newest member of the Jefferson Awards Foundation Board of Governors.

The Jefferson Awards Foundation was founded in 1972 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Sen. Robert Taft Jr., and Sam Beard.

Media contact: Brian Peloza, 765-496-9711, bpeloza@purdue.edu

Source: Steve Abel, abels@purdue.edu

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-18 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.