Agriculture News

November 20, 2017

Three Purdue professors elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — Three Purdue University professors have been awarded the distinction of fellow from the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world's largest general scientific society.

The professors are being honored for their efforts toward advancing science applications that are deemed scientifically or socially distinguished.

The fellows from Purdue are:

* Sylvie M. Brouder, a professor of agronomy at Purdue, Wickersham Chair of Excellence in Agricultural Research and Extension educator on plant nutrition, nutrient management and cropping systems. For distinguished contributions to the field of plant nutrition and agroecology, particularly for rigor in developing evidence-based practices and knowledge translation for agricultural sustainability.

* Thomas Hertel, a distinguished professor of agricultural economics at Purdue, founder and Executive Director of the Global Trade Analysis Project (GTAP), fellow and past president of the Agricultural and Applied Economics Association and inaugural recipient of the Purdue University Research and Scholarship Distinction Award. For outstanding contributions to the quantitative analysis of global food, environment, climate and international trade issues.

* Zhong-Yin Zhang, head of Purdue University’s Department of Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, a professor of chemistry, distinguished professor of medicinal chemistry, and Robert C. and Charlotte P. Anderson Chair in Pharmacology. For distinguished contributions to the study of protein phosphorylation and signaling, particularly for defining structure and function, and for therapeutic targeting of protein tyrosine phosphatases.

The 2017 fellows will be announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the Friday (Nov. 24) issue of Science, and they will be honored on Feb. 17 at the AAAS annual meeting in Austin.

The tradition of selecting fellows began in 1874. Members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering group of their respective sections, by three fellows or by the association's chief executive officer. Each steering group then reviews nominations within its respective section and forwards a final list to the association's council. The nomination involves all disciplines of science and engineering, which makes it broader than any technical society. Additional information is available online.

Media contact: Kayla Zacharias, 765-494-9318, 

Sources: Sylvie M. Brouder,

Thomas Hertel,

Zhong-Yin Zhang,

Agricultural Communications: (765) 494-8415;
Shari Finnell, Manager/Media Relations and Public Information,  
Agriculture News Page

Ag News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-24 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at