December 13, 2016

Purdue professor Weiner elected fellow of National Academy of Inventors

Weiner A. Andrew Weiner (Purdue University photo/Vincent Walter)
Download image

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – A Purdue University professor has been named Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors.

The organization recognized Andrew M. Weiner, the Scifres Family Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Weiner's research focuses on ultrafast optics, notably the processing of extremely high-speed lightwave signals and ultra-broadband radio-frequency signals. He is especially well known for his pioneering work on programmable generation of arbitrary ultrashort pulse waveforms, which has found application both in fiber optic networks and in ultrafast optical science laboratories around the world.

He is author of a textbook titled "Ultrafast Optics," has published eight book chapters, more than 300 journal articles and over 500 conference papers, and is inventor of 18 U.S. patents. His numerous awards include the Hertz Foundation Doctoral Thesis Prize, the Optical Society of America's Adolph Lomb Medal and R.W. Wood Prize, the International Commission on Optics Prize and the IEEE Photonics Society's William Streifer Scientific Achievement Award and Quantum Electronics Prize. At Purdue, he has been recognized with the inaugural Research Excellence Award from the schools of engineering, the Provost's Outstanding Graduate Student Mentor Award, the Herbert Newby McCoy Award for outstanding contributions to the natural sciences and the College of Engineering Mentoring Award.

Weiner was elected to membership in the National Academy of Engineering and in 2009 was named a Department of Defense National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellow. He joined Purdue as professor in 1992 and has since mentored more than 35 doctoral students.

He joins previously named Purdue NAI fellows Charles A. Bouman, the Showalter Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Biomedical Engineering; Alyssa Panitch, vice provost for faculty affairs and the Leslie A. Geddes Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Sherry L. Harbin, a professor of biomedical engineering and basic medical sciences; Jan P. Allebach, the Hewlett-Packard Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering; R. Graham Cooks, the Henry Bohn Hass Distinguished Professor of Chemistry; Philip S. Low, the Ralph C. Corley Distinguished Professor of Chemistry; Rakesh Agrawal, the Winthrop E. Stone Distinguished Professor in the School of Chemical Engineering and Michael Ladisch, Distinguished Professor in the Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering and Weldon School of Biomedical Engineering.

The National Academy of Inventors was founded in 2010 to recognize researchers at universities and nonprofit institutes who translate their research findings into inventions that may benefit society.  

Writer: Emil Venere, 765-494-4709,

Source: Andrew Weiner, 765 494-5574,

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-22 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at