May 9, 2016  

Office of Engagement honors faculty and staff with annual awards

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — Purdue University's Office of Engagement has named winners of four faculty and staff engagement awards for 2016.

The awards honor faculty and staff members who combine scholarship and community partnerships to have a positive impact beyond campus.

"The community has benefited greatly from the scholarly engagement of these talented individuals and teams," said Steve Abel, associate provost for engagement. "Their dedication has touched Indiana neighborhoods and communities around the world."

The honorees are:

* Darcy Bullock, professor of civil engineering, the Faculty Engagement Fellow Award. This award is given to a full professor whose work has led to a sustained record of engagement.  

Bullock works closely with engineers at the local, state and national levels to identify critical research problems and produce solutions. His work demonstrates a successful history of real-world implementation. His community partner is the Indiana Department of Transportation.

* Tamara Moore, associate professor of engineering education, the Faculty Engagement Scholar Award. This award is given to an assistant or associate professor with an outstanding record of early achievement and a strong indication of future contributions to scholarly engagement.

Moore is an internationally recognized scholar in the area of STEM integration in the K-12 classroom. She has made a tremendous impact on schools, teachers and students around the world through her scholarship of engagement work. Her community partner is Saint Paul Public Schools.

* Natalie Carroll, professor in agriculture and biological engineering and extension education, the Christian J. Foster Award. This award is given to a faculty member who has contributed to K-12 STEM - science, technology, engineering and math - education in Indiana.

Carroll has been involved in PK-12 engagement activities since coming to Purdue in April 1995. She has reached 6,909 youth directly, through events and workshops on the Purdue campus. Her support of the Indiana 4-H natural resource projects has impacted 428,361 youth enrolled in 10 project areas during the nearly 22 years that she has been at Purdue. Her community partner is Zach Beasley, Tippecanoe County surveyor.

* Dorothy Reed, assistant dean for engagement college of education, the inaugural Staff Engagement Award.

Reed fosters a collaborative work environment to address issues of common concern and embraces the mission of engagement as an administrative professional staff member. Her community partner is Food Finders Food Bank.

* Engineering Projects in Community Service (EPICS) programs in the School of Engineering, the Corps of Engagement Award. This award is given to a team of faculty, staff, students and/or community stakeholders for outstanding partnership and achievement in engagement.

EPICS is celebrating 20 years of success in engagement. Its community partner is Habitat for Humanity of Lafayette.

Also being recognized are Sherry Harbin, professor of biomedical engineering, the 2016 recipient of the Outstanding Commercialization Award for Purdue University Faculty, and Clark Gedney, director of the biomedia center for instructional design, for Service to Engagement.

The engagement awards were presented at a luncheon May 9. 

News service contact: John Hughey, 765-494-2432,

Source: Steve Abel, 765-494-2744, 

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-24 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at