Graduate students honored for teaching excellence

April 30, 2015  

Graduate students were honored Wednesday (April 29) at the 17th Annual Celebration of Graduate Teaching Excellence, hosted by the Office of the Provost, Teaching Academy, Graduate School and the Center for Instructional Excellence.

The Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award is the highest honor Purdue gives to a graduate student. Selected students must show excellence in mentoring and teaching undergraduate and/or graduate students, and have proven leadership and accomplishments outside of the classroom in service and outreach as well as scholarly presentations and publications.

The 2015 recipients of the Graduate School Excellence in Teaching Award are Adrie Koehler, Curriculum and Instruction; Marwa Noureldin, Pharmacy Practice; Lee Rynearson, Engineering Education; and Christina Weiler, Languages and Cultures.

The event also recognized graduate students who earned Teaching Academy Graduate Teaching Awards, Graduate Instructional Development Certificates (GIDC), Graduate Teaching Certificates (GTC), and Advanced Graduate Teaching Certificates (AGTC).

* The recipients of the Teaching Academy Graduate Teaching Award are:

Neha Agrawal, Chemistry

Brian M. Alberts, History

Christina Alvey, Mathematics

Ian Arnold, Physics

Yeon Jin Bae, Civil Engineering

Rebecca A. Bercich, Biomedical Engineering

Timothy Berry, Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences

Erin Besser, Curriculum and Instruction

Norman Best, Horticulture and Landscape Architecture

Radhika Bhargava, Computer Science

Dana Bisignani, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Joran Booth, Mechanical Engineering

Lacey Bowman, Art and Design

Gerilyn Brault, Theatre

Russell Brayfield, Nuclear Engineering

Sarah E. Brookes, Basic Medical Sciences

Denise Caldwell, Botany and Plant Pathology

Goran Calic, Management

Lucia R. Capdevila, Engineering Education

Yang Chen, Computer Graphics Technology

Dennis P. Cladis, Nutrition Science

Susannah Cox, Chemistry

Sherri Elaine Craig, English

H. Onan Demirel, Industrial Engineering

John Di Iorio, Chemical Engineering

Andrew Eberline, Health and Kinesiology

Shawn G. Ehlers, Agricultural and Biological Engineering

Heather Fedesco, Communication

Trevor J. Frank, Agronomy

Christopher Fugger, Aeronautics and Astronautics

Kourtney Goode, Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Adam Hendrickson, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Yuhan Huang, Comparative Literature

Timothy Hui, Veterinary Clinical Sciences

Nicole E. Iannone, Psychological Sciences

Daniel C. Jones, Languages and Cultures

Anju Karki, Biological Sciences

Aleksandra Kasztalska, Linguistics

Julius C. Keller, Aviation Technology

Kenneth F. Kellner, Forestry and Natural Resources

Jooho (Tony) Kim, Hospitality and Tourism Management

David Kittell, Mechanical Engineering

Sergii Kravchenko, Aeronautics and Astronautics

Windi Krok, Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

Davis White Kuykendall Jr., Philosophy

Yoon Young Kwak, Human Development and Family Studies

Ashleigh Kysar-Moon, Sociology

Jing Lu, Technology, Leadership and Innovation

Amanda M. Luby, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Jason Lucas, Mathematics

Natalie Lund, English

Ahmed Refaat Ahmed Mahmood, Computer Science

Lilly Marsh, American Studies

Michael Melesse, Biochemistry

Amanda Miller, Technology Leadership and Innovation

Zachary Mitchell, Physics

Stacy Olivia Nall, English

Keturah Camille Nix, African American Studies

Tyler J. Peat, Comparative Pathobiology

Brittany F. Peterson, Entomology

Jennifer Sdunzik, Anthropology

George Toh, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Kristin Villa, Pharmacy Practice

Rachel Walker-Kulzick, Political Science

Mingding Wang, Chemistry

Christina Weiler, Languages and Cultures

Leah M. Wilfong, Nursing

Benjamin Wilkins, Chemistry

Venecia R. Wilson, Industrial and Physical Pharmacy

Sara Wirbisky, Health Sciences

Kathryn E. Yankura, English

Arnold Yim, Mathematics

Kan Yue, Economics

Seong Do Yun, Agricultural Economics

Dandan Zhang, Food Science


* Graduate students who earned the Graduate Instructional Development Certificate are:

Yuwen Deng, Curriculum and Instruction

Matthew Hebdon, Civil Engineering

JungYun Hur, Hospitality and Tourism Management

Eunjoo Kang, Hospitality and Tourism Management

Christina M. Marini, Human Development and Family Studies

Mary McCall, English

Ashton Mouton, Communication

Ryan Sherman, Civil Engineering

Hamed Zamenian, Civil Engineering


* Those who earned the Graduate Teacher Certificate are:

Akua F. Amankwaah, Nutrition Science

Molly Amstutz, Statistics

Jae Jin Bang, Chemistry

Natalie Chin, Agricultural and Biological Engineering

Yuwen Deng, Curriculum and Instruction

Kelly-Ann Dixon Hamil, Statistics

Maiko Kato, Languages and Cultures

Kenneth F. Kellner, Forestry and Natural Resources

Michael Mashtare Jr., Agronomy

Mary McCall, English

Megan Kathleen McCarty, Psychology

Gracemarie Mike, English

Parth Panchmatia, Civil Engineering

Maria Alejandra Wundram Pimentel, Anthropology

Jeffrey Radloff, Biology

Cordelia A. Running, Food Science and Nutrition Science

Shaylyn Wiarda, Agronomy

Arnold Yim, Mathematics


* Graduate students who earned the Advanced Graduate Teacher Certificate are:

David Bradford Blasing, Physics

Heather Fedesco, Communication

Kai Kuang, Communication

Charles Tsz Kwan Lam, Linguistics

Michael Mashtare Jr., Agronomy

Marwa Noureldin, Pharmacy Practice

Lee Kemp Rynearson, Engineering Education 

Isaac J. Tetzloff, Engineering Education

Faith Weeks, Entomology

Christina Weiler, Languages and Cultures and Comparative Literature 

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-18 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.