Convocation recognizes faculty for awards, honors, teaching excellence, years of service

April 25, 2014  

Faculty members were recognized Thursday (April 24) for international and national awards, University and college honors, and distinguished and named professorships achieved since April 2013 at the Faculty Awards Convocation. The convocation also honored faculty for their years of service.

National and international awards

For a full list of fellow appointments, click here. For a full list of award-winners, click here.

University awards

2013 Purdue Teaching Academy Fellows: Eric Barker, medicinal chemistry and molecular pharmacology; Peter Hollenbeck, biological sciences; Sonia Lasher-Trapp, earth, atmospheric, and planetary sciences; Marcy Towns, chemistry; David Umulis, agricultural and biological engineering.

2013-14 Teaching for Tomorrow Fellowship Awards: Guang Cheng, statistics; Patrick Connelly, computer graphics technology; Atsushi Fukada, languages and cultures; Stephanie Gardner, biological sciences; Dawn Laux, computer and information technology; Brandeis Marshall, computer and information technology; Jennifer Freeman Marshall, English and women's studies; Nathan Mentzer, technology leadership and innovation; Meghan Norris; consumer science; Haley Oliver, food science; Yvonne Pitts, history; Sean Rotar, horticulture and landscape architecture; Brian Todd, physics; Marcy Towns, chemistry; Maria Venetis, communication; Jolena Waddell, animal sciences; Michael Yough, educational psychology and research methodology.

2014 Exceptional Early Career Awards: Jennifer Freeman, health sciences; Cary Troy, civil engineering.

2014 Morrill Awards: Rakesh Agrawal, chemical engineering; Philip Low, chemistry; Edward Delp, electrical and computer engineering and biomedical engineering.

2014 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards in Memory of Charles B. Murphy: David Eichinger, curriculum and instruction; Kathleen Howell, aeronautics and astronautics; Cynthia Bozich Keith, nursing; Suzanne Nielsen, food science; Jason Weiss, civil engineering.

Class of 1922 Helping Students Learn Award: William Graziano, psychological sciences.

Committee on Institutional Cooperation-Academic Leadership Program Fellows: Teresa Taber Doughty, educational studies; Richard Grant, agronomy; Williams Oakes, engineering education; Nancy Peterson, English; Michael Schutz, animal sciences; Laurel Weldon, political science.

Fellowship for Study in a Second Discipline (2013-14): Bedrich Benes, computer graphics technology; Janice Kritchevsky, veterinary clinical sciences; Chien-tsung Lu, aviation technology; Aman Yadav, educational studies; Christopher Yeomans, philosophy.

Provost Fellows: Jeffrey Karpicke, psychological sciences; Williams Oakes, engineering education.

University Faculty Scholars: Daniel Aldrich, political science; Stewart Alexander, health sciences; Alexandra Boltasseva, electrical and computer engineering; Nadine Dolby, curriculum and instruction; Esteban Fernandez-Juricic, biological sciences; Anne Fliotsos, visual and performing arts; Barbara Golden, biochemistry; Qing Jiang, nutrition science; Gurmukh Johal, botany and plant pathology; Michael Manfra, physics; Zheng Ouyang, biomedical engineering; Manushag (Nush) Powell, English; Gregory Shaver, mechanical engineering; Lia Stanciu, mechanical engineering; Richard Voyles, electrical and computer engineering technology; Shawn Whiteman, human development and family studies; Aman Yadav, educational psychology; Yoon Yeo, pharmacy; Xiangyu Zhang, computer science.

For a full list of honorees, click here.

College awards

For a full list of honorees, click here.

Distinguished professors (appointed after April 2013)

Bruce Hamaker, Distinguished Professor of Food Science.

Kathleen Howell, Distinguished Professor of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering.

Kaushik Roy, Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Named professors (appointed after April 2013)

Alyssa Panitch, the Leslie A. Geddes Professor in Biomedical Engineering.

Eckhard Groll, the Reilly Professor of Mechanical Engineering.

Timothy Fisher, the James G. Dwyer Professor in Mechanical Engineering.

Fabio Ribeiro, the R. Norris and Eleanor Shreve Professor of Chemical Engineering

Jason Weiss, the Jack and Kay Hockema Professor in Civil Engineering.

Arvind Raman, the Robert V. Adams Professor in Mechanical Engineering.

Jozef Kokini, the William R. Scholle Endowed Chair in Food Processing.

Jay Gephart, the Al G. Wright Chair of Purdue University Bands and Orchestras.

Mahdi Abu-Omar , the R.B. Wetherill Professor of Chemistry.

Dennis Savaiano, the Virginia C. Meredith Professorship of Nutrition Policy.

Joerg Appenzeller, the Barry M. and Patricia L. Epstein Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Kuan-Chou Chen, the Thomas M. McDermott, Sr. Professor in Economic Development.

Cyril Pat Obi, the White Lodging Professorship of Finance.

For a list of all distinguished and named professors, click here.

Faculty service recognition awards

40-year honorees: Mary Ellen Bock, statistics; Bernie Dahl, horticulture and landscape architecture; Burgess Davis, mathematics; Benjamin Lawton, languages and cultures; Richard Paul, visual and performing arts; Kumares Sinha, civil engineering.

45-year honorees: Virgil Barnes, physics; Joseph Borowitz, medicinal chemistry and molecular pharmacology; Robert Hanneman, biomedical engineering; R.N. Houze, chemical engineering; Ronald Hullinger, basic medical sciences; Robert Jacko, civil engineering; Robert May, history; William Shaffer, political science; Robert Spitzer, materials engineering.

50-year honorees: Wilbur Lewellen, management; Carolyn Perrucci, sociology; Michael Rossmann, biological sciences.

For a full list of honorees, click here.

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-18 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at so we can help.