APSAC welcomes new members, presents Excellence Award

May 19, 2014  

APSAC gaval

Beau Moore, right, 2013-14 APSAC chair, passes the gavel to Andrea Thomas, who will serve as chair during 2014-15, during APSAC's recognition luncheon May 14. (Purdue University photo/Mark Simons)
Download Photo

The Administrative and Professional Staff Advisory Committee recognized outgoing members and new members at its luncheon and meeting on Wednesday (May 14).

The committee also awarded its fourth annual APSAC Excellence Award, which recognizes A/P staff who consistently perform at an outstanding level, and honored Al Diaz, the outgoing executive vice president for business and finance, treasurer, and Tim Sands, the outgoing provost.

The members who completed their terms are Robin Cunningham, Joe Kline, Jon Laswell, Beau Moore and April Sauer. Moore, who is outgoing chair, will serve as an emeritus member for 2014-15 along with Cunningham, Kline and Laswell.

New members were welcomed at the luncheon and the meeting.

Incoming members and their areas of representation are:

* Samuel Guffey, College of Agriculture.
* Nina Robinson, colleges of Engineering and Technology.
* RaeLynn Boes, Office of the President.
* Nicole Noel, College of Pharmacy.
* Tiffany Weatherford, Senior Vice President for Business Services and Vice President for Human Resources.
* Ethan Kingery, Associate Vice President for Housing and Food Services.
* Kathy Dale, at large.
* Natalie Connors and Megan Tharp, Purdue North Central.
* Susan Giannini, Purdue Calumet.

Officers for 2014-15 are Andrea Thomas, chair, and Christopher Munt, vice chair.

APSAC Excellence Award

Carolyn Percifield, center, director of strategic planning and assessment in the College of Engineering, received the APSAC Excellence Award during the committee's recognition luncheon on May 14. She stands with Leah Jamieson, the John A. Edwardson Dean of the College of Engineering, and Luis Lewin, vice president for human resources. (Purdue University photo/Mark Simons) 
Download Photo

Later during the luncheon, the APSAC Excellence Award was presented to Carolyn Percifield, director of strategic planning and assessment in the College of Engineering. The annual award recognizes a full-time administrative or professional staff member from the West Lafayette campus who demonstrates excellence by showing initiative, leading by example, showing exemplary customer service, acting as a University ambassador and being a high performer.

Nominators wrote that Percifield is a tireless representative of and liaison for the College of Engineering, and she consistently goes out of her way to solicit faculty members' input on ongoing initiatives. Her persistent efforts to follow up with faculty, one nominator wrote, led to the proposal for the college's high-profile engagement with Colombia. In that effort, Percifield has continued to engage with and serve as a relationship steward for key University partners.

"I have the privilege of working with so many amazing people who are dedicated, smart, compassionate and creative," Percifield says.

"They are scattered all over campus in all sorts of jobs. This award is really an acknowledgement of the successes we have achieved together over many years. I'm grateful for these friends and colleagues and grateful for this recognition."

Percifield will receive a plaque and $1,500. The award is sponsored by the Office of the Executive Vice President for Business and Finance, Treasurer.

After the presentation of the Excellence Award, Moore presented awards to Diaz and Sands for their valuable contributions to APSAC's success during their time working at Purdue.

Writer: Amanda Hamon Kunz, 49-61325, ahamon@purdue.edu

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-17 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at online@purdue.edu so we can help.