Title IX service awardees announced as conference nears

September 18, 2012  

Purdue is honoring 40 individuals upon the 40th anniversary of Title IX for their significant contributions to the advancement of gender equity in education. A reception is set for Oct. 11 as part of a conference at Purdue.

The honorees are notable names in Purdue history and education. Recipients include both deceased and living persons. All will be recognized at a reception at 4:30 p.m. Oct. 11 at the close of the "Title IX @ 40: Looking Back, Moving Forward" conference at Purdue. Attendance at the reception is limited to special invitees and conference registrants.

Registration is necessary to attend the conference itself, though the only cost is $15 for nonstudents who wish to receive a boxed lunch. The conference hours are 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. at Ross-Ade Stadium's Shively Club. The site is www.conf.purdue.edu/TitleIX to register. For registration information, contact Ed Keller at 49-49482. For conference information, contact Barbara Devine at titleix@purdue.edu.

The Title IX service award demonstrates sustained accomplishments in one or more of the following areas:

* Maximizing institutional and/or societal resources to broaden access and opportunity to women in higher education.

* Expanding the range and quality of the female undergraduate or graduate student experience at Purdue.

* Contributing to the achievement of gender equity at all levels of the academic community.

* Contributing to the advancement of women in intercollegiate athletics.

* Providing local and/or national leadership on issues related to gender equity in education at all levels.

Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 became law on June 23, 1972, by the signature of President Richard M. Nixon. Title IX is a comprehensive federal law that prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in any federally funded education program or activity.

The conference is sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Ethics and Compliance, Diversity Resource Office, Intercollegiate Athletics, Office of Institutional Equity, Purdue Alumni Association, Susan Bulkeley Butler Center for Leadership Excellence, Women for Purdue, Women's Resource Network and the Women's Studies Program.

Here are the names of the 40 recipients:

Clara E. Bell *
Evelyn Blackwood
Roger L. Blalock *
Beth Brooke
Morgan J. Burke

Susan Bulkeley Butler
Martha Oakley Chiscon
Barbara S. Clark
Sally Combs-Dunaway
Barbara Ivy Cook

Cheryl A. Cooky
Nancy Cross
Jane Zimmer Daniels
Carol Dewey
Carol A Ecker

Barbara Edmondson
Zenephia E. Evans
Mary Harrison Ford
Monica Gary
LaNelle E. Geddes

Eva L. Goble
Leah H. Jamieson
Carolyn E. Johnson
Laura Reasoner Jones
Dorothy Leland

Joan L. Marshall
Sally Mason
Tamara E. Morse
Carolyn Peck
Robert L. Ringel *

Margaret Moan Rowe
Amy Ruley
Helen Blanche Schleman *
Beverley Stone *
Dorothy C. Stratton *

Beverly Davenport Sypher
Emily M. Wadsworth
Sarah J. (Sally) Watlington
Helen Bass Williams *
Toyinda Wilson-Long

* deceased

Faculty-Staff News

More News

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2014-18 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Integrity Statement | Copyright Complaints | Brand Toolkit | Maintained by Marketing and Media

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact us at online@purdue.edu so we can help.