Purdue signature

December 21, 2012

Appointments, honors and activities

Faculty and staff honors:

- Purdue computer science professors Antony Hosking and Ninghui Li have been named 2012 Distinguished Scientists of the Association for Computing Machinery. The Distinguished Member Grade recognizes ACM members with at least 15 years of professional experience and five years of continuous professional membership who have achieved significant accomplishments or have made a significant impact on the computing field.


- Former Purdue President France A. Córdova has been designated as the chair of the board of directors for the Center for the Advancement of Science in Space. As chair, Córdova will serve as the board's spokesperson and will preside at board meetings. Córdova was president of Purdue from July 2007 to July 2012. CASIS was selected by NASA in 2011 to maximize use of the International Space Station. For more, visit http://www.iss-casis.org/NewsEvents/PressReleases/tabid/111/ArticleID/53/ArtMID/586/CASIS-Board-of-Directors-Selects-Chairperson.aspx