College of Technology honors distinguished alumni with awards

April 18, 2012

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Fourteen graduates from Purdue University's College of Technology will be recognized during the 2012 alumni awards on Friday (April  20).

The awards are presented to alumni who have harnessed the power of their Purdue degrees to positively impact their chosen professions and have changed how today's technology will improve the world tomorrow.

Distinguished Technology Alumni Award recipients include Anthony Denhart, Michael Dornhecker, Steve Lovejoy and Thomas Shelby. Outstanding Technology Alumni Award recipients include: R. Kurt Barnhart, Jeff Hanna, Chris Jones, Cy Rangel, Daniel Schmidtendorff and Tammy Wiley. Early Career Award recipients include Nicholas Drazic, Chanda Guth, Jeffrey Miller and Benjamin Uskert.

* Anthony Denhart graduated from Purdue in 1989 with a bachelor’s degree in electrical and computer engineering technology. He serves General Electric as the midwest regional manager for university relations.

* Michael Dornhecker graduated from Purdue in 1984 with a bachelors’ degree in Technology Leadership and Innovation (Organizational Leadership). He currently serves as senior director for plant operations for  Daiichi Sankyo in Easton, Pa. He previously served as vice president of U.S. manufacturing and operations for Solvay Pharmaceuticals.

* Steve Lovejoy graduated from Purdue in 1988 with a bachelor’s degree in technology leadership and innovation. He is senior vice president at  Starbucks Coffee Co., responsible for global comercialization of new products and end-to-end supply chain organizations in China, Asia Pacific, Europe and the Middle East. He previously held similar positions at Method Home Products and Clorox.

*Thomas Shelby graduated from Purdue in 1981 with a bachelor’s degree in building construction management. Shelby is senior vice president at Peter Kiewit and Sons. He is responsible for the  profit and loss of the company’s power plant work, which accounts for about $3 billion in annual revenue.

Writer:  Jim Schenke, 765-237-7296,

Source:  Vanessa Buntin, alumni relations director of the College of Technology, 765-494-0486,

Note to Journalists:  Complete biographies and photographs of the 2012 distinguished alumni are available online at