January 13, 2023

National searches for Purdue’s named deanships in Agriculture and in Science; nominations sought

Dear faculty colleagues, 

As we move rapidly through our first week back of 2023, I’m writing to announce national searches for named deanships in our College of Agriculture and our College of Science, beginning immediately.

As will be the case with all Purdue dean searches henceforth, these will be fulsome national open searches. We expect to attract many distinguished senior faculty candidates, both external and internal, for these roles. I invite you to submit candidate nominations (including self-nominations) directly to me and ask please that you forward this announcement to colleagues at leading institutions worldwide.

No appointments at Purdue are more critical to the leadership of our research, teaching and engagement missions than deanships such as these. Colleagues in Agriculture and in Science will be receiving regular updates from our two search advisory committees, led respectively by Agriculture co-chairs Clint Chapple, Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry, and Catherine Hill, Professor of Entomology and Department Head;
and by Science chair Richard Kuhn, the Trent and Judith Anderson Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences.

Thank you for helping us to recruit and select strong colleagues for these named deanships.

Yours with very best wishes for an intellectually invigorating and productive Spring semester,


Patrick Wolfe

Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Diversity

Purdue University

* * *

Glenn W. Sample Dean of the College of Agriculture search advisory committee

Clint Chapple, Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry (Co-Chair)

Catherine Hill, Professor of Entomology and Department Head (Co-Chair) 

Olayiwola Adeola, Professor of Animal Sciences

Timothy Doty, Senior Director, Public Information and Issues Management, Marketing and Communications

Songlin Fei, Professor of Forestry and Natural Resources and Dean’s Chair of Remote Sensing

Thomas Hertel, Distinguished Professor of Agricultural Economics

John Higgins, Executive Director, Research Finance and Account Management

Ying Li, Assistant Professor of Horticulture and Landscape Architecture

Steve Lindemann, Associate Professor of Food Science

Henry Quesada, Assistant Director of Extension

Shweta Singh, Associate Professor of Agricultural and Biological Engineering

Darcy Telenko, Assistant Professor of Botany and Plant Pathology

Diane Wang, Assistant Professor of Agronomy

Hui-Hui Wang, Associate Professor of Agricultural Sciences Education and Communication

Joshua Widhalm, Associate Professor of Horticulture

Natalia Doudareva, Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry and Horticulture and Landscape Architecture, will also serve on the committee and act as a key liaison, leading an advisory group charged with gathering broad stakeholder input of specific relevance to the College of Agriculture:

Shalamar Armstrong, Associate Professor of Agronomy

Dieudonne Baributsa, Associate Professor of Entomology

Jacquelyn Boerman, Assistant Professor of Animal Sciences

Amanda Dickson, International Extension Specialist

Brenna Ellison, Associate Professor of Agricultural Economics

Laramy Enders, Assistant Professor of Entomology

Jeneen Fields, Clinical Assistant Professor of Botany and Plant Pathology

Elizabeth Flaherty, Associate Professor of Forestry and Natural Resources

Jen-Yi Huang, Associate Professor of Food Science

Anjali Iyer-Pascuzzi, Associate Professor of Botany and Plant Pathology

Nathan Shoaf, Senior Urban Agriculture Coordinator

Senay Simsek, Dean’s Chair in Food Science and Head

Ronald Turco, Professor of Agronomy and Head

Jennifer Wisecaver, Associate Professor of Biochemistry

* * *

Frederick L. Hovde Dean of the College of Science search advisory committee 

Richard Kuhn, Trent and Judith Anderson Distinguished Professor of Biological Sciences (Chair)

Tamal Dey, Professor of Computer Science

Janice Evans, Professor of Biological Sciences and Head

Isaac Harris, Barbara A. Kunze New Frontiers Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Sabre Kais, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry

Mark Lundstrom, Don and Carol Scifres Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Interim Dean, College of Engineering

Michael Manfra, Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy

Eva Nodine, Vice President and Deputy Chief Financial Officer

Jianxi Su, Associate Professor of Statistics and Associate Director of Actuarial Science

Marissa Tremblay, Assistant Professor of Earth, Atmospheric and Planetary Sciences

Kris Wong Davis, Vice Provost for Enrollment Management

Purdue University, 610 Purdue Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907, (765) 494-4600

© 2015-24 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Office of Strategic Communications

Trouble with this page? Disability-related accessibility issue? Please contact News Service at purduenews@purdue.edu.