5 Purdue professors elected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

December 13, 2011

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Five Purdue University professors have been awarded the distinction of fellow from the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world's largest general scientific society.

The distinction recognizes notable work to advance science or its applications, and fellows are elected by their peer members. The association will present 539 new fellows with the award on Feb. 18 during the AAAS annual meeting in Vancouver, B.C.

The fellows from Purdue are:

Steven Adelman, a professor of chemistry, for developing the theoretical foundation for studying chemical reaction dynamics on solid surfaces and in liquid solutions.

Muhammad Ashraful Alam, a professor of electrical and computer engineering, for distinguished contributions to the reliability of electronic devices, "carrier transport" in technology-relevant complex materials, and for lucid and broad communication of these ideas.

Srinivasan Chandrasekar, a professor of industrial engineering and materials engineering by courtesy, for outstanding contributions to the technology of manufacturing through the integration of fundamental material properties into mathematical descriptions of machining processes and machined products.

Suresh Garimella, associate vice president for engagement and the R. Eugene and Susie E. Goodson Distinguished Professor, for distinguished and pioneering contributions to the field of thermal transport and energy efficiency with significant and sustained impact on industry.

Michael Ladisch, distinguished professor of agricultural and biological engineering, biomedical engineering and Director of Purdue's Laboratory of Renewable Resources Engineering, for his contributions to the science of bioprocessing of renewable resources in biofuels and of bioseparations for rapid detection of food pathogens.

These professors join 43 Purdue colleagues as AAAS fellows.

The tradition of selecting fellows began in 1874. Members can be considered for the rank of fellow if nominated by the steering group of their respective sections, by three fellows or by the association's chief executive officer. Each steering group then reviews nominations within its respective section and forwards a final list to the association's council. The nomination involves all discipline of science and engineering, which makes it broader than any technical society. Additional information is available  at http://www.aaas.org

Writers: Emil Venere, 765-494-4709, venere@purdue.edu

                Elizabeth K. Gardner, 765-494-2081, ekgardner@purdue.edu

                Brian Wallheimer, 765-496-2050, bwallhei@purdue.edu