Awards honor wines of year at 20th Indy International

August 8, 2011

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. — For the second year in a row, an Indiana wine took home a major trophy at the 20th Indy International Wine Competition, which wrapped up over the weekend at Purdue University.

Huber Orchard & Winery's 2010 Catawba Rosé was named best international rosé wine of the year. The winery was also awarded the Governor's Cup, given to the Indiana winery of the year.

"Once again, the quality of Indiana wines stood out against thousands of entries from all over the world," said Christian Butzke, professor of enology and chief judge for the competition. "We had many truly spectacular wines this year, and the winners can be very proud of their exceptional winegrowing and winemaking skills."

Indiana wines took home 223 medals, 54 of them golds and double golds.

For the second year in a row, a white wine made from the Riesling grapes took home the top prize. Wilamette Valley Vineyards, of Turner, Ore., received the trophy for Wine of the Year for its 2009 Riesling.

The award for winery of the year went to E&J Gallo Winery of Modesto, Calif., for the second straight year.

Nearly 2,500 wines from 38 states and 15 countries were judged in this year's competition. Butzke said 136 were given double gold medals, 291 were given gold, 91 were given silver and 496 were given bronze.

Other major awards were:

* Sparkling wine of the year: 1999 Carneros Cuvée (Pinot Noir, Chardonnay), from Gloria Ferrer of Sonoma, Calif.

* Red wine of the year: 2008 Cabernet Franc from Kokomo Winery of Healdsburg, Calif.

* White wine of the year: 2010 Ehrenfelser, from Gray Monk Estate Winery of Okangan Centre, British Columbia, Canada.

* Dessert wine of the year: 2009 LaCrescent, from Saint Croix Vineyards of Stillwater, Minn.

For a listing of all medal winners, go to

Writer: Brian Wallheimer, 765-496-2050,

Source: Christian Butzke, 765.494.6500,

Ag Communications: (765) 494-2722;
Keith Robinson,
Agriculture News Page