Trustees ratify appointments, approve resolutions of appreciation

May 17, 2011

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - The Purdue University Board of Trustees on Tuesday (May 17) ratified the appointment of a distinguished professor and the appointment of a dean for the School of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences at Purdue University Calumet.

Trustees also approved resolutions of appreciation for three administrators and a trustee and ratified the appointment of a dean for the College of Technology.


Download image 

The board ratified Vladimir M. Shalaev as the Bob and Anne Burnett Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. Shalaev, who came to Purdue in 2001, also is a professor of biomedical engineering and a professor of physics.

He has received several awards for his research in the field of nanophotonics and metamaterials, including the Willis E. Lamb Award for Laser Science and Quantum Optics, the Max Born Award of the Optical Society of America for his pioneering contributions to the field of optical metamaterials, and the Top 50 Nanotechnology Award for Nanorod Material. He also has won Purdue's highest honor for scientific research achievement, the McCoy Award. He is a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, the Optical Society of America, the American Physical Society and the International Society for Optical Engineering.

Shalaev made seminal contributions to the development of a new approach for engineering novel artificial materials (metamaterials) with required optical properties that go beyond what natural materials can offer. He has been credited with demonstrating the first negative-index metamaterial in the optical range, artificial magnetism across the entire visible spectrum and the world's smallest optical nanolaser. He made pioneering contributions to the development of nonlinear metamaterials and a new research direction called transformation optics with breakthrough ideas for diverse photonic applications.

Shalaev has edited or co-edited five books and authored three books and 23 invited book chapters and more than 300 research publications.

Before coming to Purdue he taught and conducted research at New Mexico State University, the University of Toronto, the University of Heidelberg, the University of Paris-South in France and Krasnoyarsk State University in Russia.

Shalaev earned his master's degree and doctorate from Krasnoyarsk State University with highest distinctions.


Download image

Trustees also approved Ronald Corthell as the dean of the School of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences and professor of English at Purdue Calumet.

Corthell, whose appointment is effective July 1, is now chair of the Department of English and a professor of English at Kent State University. Prior to coming to Kent State as an assistant professor of English in 1981, he was an assistant professor at Canisius College.

He has written a book about John Donne's poetry, co-edited two books, and written four book chapters and more than 15 articles for journals.

Corthell earned his bachelor's degree from John Carroll University and both his master's and doctoral degrees from Cornell University.

Trustees also approved resolutions of appreciation for Victor Lechtenberg, Mamon M. Powers Jr., Dennis Depew and Howard Cohen.

Lechtenberg, who is stepping aside from his duties as vice provost for engagement, has been at Purdue since 1971 when he received his doctorate in agronomy and became a professor of agronomy. He has served as dean of the College of Agriculture as well as executive associate dean and associate director of Purdue's agricultural research programs. He became vice provost for engagement in 2004.

Powers is retiring on June 30 from the Board of Trustees, on which he has served since 1996, including the past two years as vice chair. He is a 1970 Purdue graduate and became president of Powers & Sons Construction Co. Inc., in 1987. A Golden Heritage member of the NAACP, he has served as president of both the Indiana Society of Professional Engineers-Calumet Chapter and the Calumet Builders Association, has served as a member and former chair of the board of trustees for the Construction Advancement Foundation of Northwest Indiana, and has served as trustee and former president of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Northwest Indiana.

Cohen, who is stepping down as chancellor of Purdue Calumet effective July 1, has led that campus since 2001. During his tenure, Purdue Calumet has increased its freshmen to sophomore retention rate 9.5 percent and its graduation rate 17 percent. He has overseen implementation of 13 new degree programs, 29 program options and the development of campus-based student housing for nearly 750 students.

Depew is stepping down as dean of the College of Technology, a position he has held since 2002. He joined the faculty of the Purdue Department of Industrial Technology in 1987 and served as head of that department, university coordinator of Excellence 21 and was assistant dean of the graduate school. In 1999 he was dean of the College of Applied Sciences at Western Carolina University, where he served before returning to Purdue.


Download image

In other business, trustees ratified the appointment of Gary Bertoline as dean of the College of Technology. Bertoline, who will become dean July 1, is associate dean for graduate studies in the College of Technology, a distinguished professor in the Department of Computer Graphics Technology, and a professor of computer and information technology. From 1995 through 2002, Bertoline was head of the computer graphics technology department.

Writer:  Greg McClure, 765-496-9711,

Sources:  Gary R. Bertoline, 765-496-6071,  

                   Timothy Sands, 765-494-9709,  

                   Vladimir Shalaev, 765-494-9855,

                   Ronald Corthell, 330-672-3152,


Gary R. Bertoline -

Vladimir Shalaev -

Ronald Corthell -

Victor Lechtenberg -  

Mamon Powers Jr.-

Dennis Depew -

Howard Cohen -