Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other subscribers

Health Sciences professor receives prestigious teaching award

Health Sciences

Tuesday, March 19th, 2019

Jennifer Freeman, associate professor in the School of Health Sciences, has been named a recipient of the 2019 Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award in Memory of Charles B. Murphy. Freeman was surprised with the news on Monday, March 18.

Purdue will continue this spring to announce recipients of the Murphy Award, Exceptional Early Career Award, and Excellence in Instruction Award for Continuing Lecturers.

The University’s highest undergraduate teaching honor, the Murphy Award is accompanied by a $10,000 cash award and induction into Purdue’s Teaching Academy, which provides leadership for the improvement of undergraduate, graduate and outreach teaching. Murphy was a history professor at Purdue from 1927 to 1970.

The Exceptional Early Career Award recognizes outstanding undergraduate teaching among Purdue’s early career, tenure-track faculty. Recipients of the award will receive a $5,000 award with additional funds for a department business account.

The Excellence in Instruction Award for Continuing Lecturers honors academic staff with the rank of continuing lecturer for outstanding undergraduate teaching on the West Lafayette campus. Recipients of the award will receive a $5,000 award.

The recipients of all three awards will be honored at an invitation-only luncheon on April 8.

A list of past Murphy Award and Early Career Award recipients is at A list of all winners of teaching awards is at

, , , ,