Jump to other news and events
Purdue signature

Web Accessibility Committee

Current Committee Members

  • Monica Bloom - Director, Office of Institutional Equity
  • Dean Brusnighan - Assistive Technology Specialist, Teaching and Learning Technologies
  • Kelly Beranger - Web Technician, Mathematics
  • Marcy Hintzman - Assistant Director Compliance and Disability Services, Office of Institutional Equity
  • Vicki Kinslow - SharePoint Application Specialist, SharePoint Center of Excellence
  • Kris Knotts - Web Marketing and Development Manager, School of Management
  • Michele Rund - Senior Web Designer/Developer, Office of Institutional Research, Assessment and Effectiveness
  • David Schwarte - Assistive Technology Specialist, Teaching and Learning Technologies
  • Aaron Smith - Application Developer, IT Application Services
  • Iyad Uakoub, Career Services Systems Associate, Center for Career Opportunities
  • Casey Wright - Web Application Programmer, Office of Institutional Research, Assessment and Effectiveness

Past Key Committee Members

  • Denton Brown, who authored the first draft, and was a strong advocate for a web accessibility policy.
  • Julie Kercher-Updike, who chaired the original committee to consider formulating a Web accessibility policy.
  • Kyle Bowen and James Mohler, who co-chaired the committee after VP Jim Bottom, Tony Hawkins and Dave Brannan approved in 2005 a recommendation to develop a university policy for Web accessibility.
  • Gavin Steiger, who chaired the committee from April 2006 to August 2007, and under his guidance the first draft of the proposed policy was written and significant improvements were made.
  • Diana Prieto, who successfully guided the committee through the organizational steps to transform the draft into an official policy.

Purdue Universal Access Initiative

Prior to the committee, a group called Purdue Universal Access Initiative was raising awareness and providing training in accessible web design. That group’s members were:

  • Bill Hanks of Center for Career Opportunities
  • Tim Nordland of Veterinary Medicine
  • David Schwarte of ITaP
  • Mary Ann Ferkis, Paula Micka, and Dean Brusnighan of Adaptive Programs (now the Disability Resource Center)